best buy sucks

March 14, 2005

in deciding to work at plaxo, i also signed on for a 45 minute commute, twice a day. i don’t mind too much, i just use the time to listen to music, talk radio or the news. for the past two months, i’ve had the same cd in my stereo: a david crowder album rose gave me (btw, it’s quite good but you can only listen to the same songs so many times before you start to get delirious). so after work today, i decided to swing by best buy to look for some new music.

i didn’t do any research on what cds to buy; instead, i figured i’d just browse the selection and pick a few cds that looked promising. this proved to be a huge mistake.

i guess i just haven’t bought anything at a brick & mortar store for quite some time now (except for groceries, i still go to safeway for those). i expected it to be easy, but i had forgotten that best buy wouldn’t have any customer testimonials, nor would i be able to sample any of the tracks. this realization didn’t faze me at first, so i started perusing anyways.

a few minutes later, i realized i was in trouble. best buy has strategically placed all the best sellers in one place, thus people are always able to find the hottest music in the same place. however, i hadn’t listened to new music in so long that i didn’t recognize most of the artists – even worse, i didn’t even know what genre some of the artists were!

well, 15 minutes later, i finally just randomly picked the newest jack johnson cd. then, i walked around the store, waiting for something to jump out and demand an impulse buy. believe it or not, none of the gadgets were too enticing – which makes it seem that either they are stocking the wrong toys or whoever plans the floor displays is failing miserably.

as i rounded the corner on my way to checkout, i encountered a huge line. to make matters worse, only one register was open and the employee working it didn’t seem to have a clue. a single transaction took almost 10 minutes! since there were 4 or 5 people ahead of me and i didn’t feel like wasting more than 30 minutes to overpay for a cd that might be terrible, i left frustrated and empty-handed.

needless to say, i’m not going back to best buy anytime soon. from now on, i’m just buying my music online.

25 Responses to “best buy sucks”

  1. JDizzle Says:

    the jack johnson cd is is pretty good. check it when you can. i had not realized either that i has been a long time since i have purchased a cd at a b&m store. anyway let us know if you start getting into the book on tape world during your drive…

  2. Olaf Says:

    Your experience in a Barnes & Noble would be much more rewarding. Their ‘feature’ section includes items from all genres (international included), and you can sample almost everything with a swipe of the bar code. Innovative, even if it is a brick & mortar. Lines aren’t usually a problem either since you’re in a book store buying music.

  3. foomonkey Says:

    Say… you’re copying me now, huh? I had a Best Buy, Worst Service entry in my blog…


    http://www.andypierce.com/blog/index.php?p=58

    David Crowder rocks.

  4. Clay Says:

    First off, I agree with jdizzle, The Jack Johnson CD is definitely worth a listen. And just like foomonkey, I also had posted a couple articles discussing my dissappointment with Best Buy on my blog, especially with their “shopping” for customers back in November of last year. Maybe we should just start an anti-Best Buy blog.

  5. markjen Says:

    olaf – i’ll have to check that out sometime. i don’t think i’ve ever bought anything at b&n aside from books 🙂

    foomonkey – i’ve also hated the buy online/pick-up in store experience. after trying it a few times, i also vowed never to use it again.

    clay – there is an entire anti-best buy website 😉

  6. Jeff Says:

    I heard Jack Johnson on SNL last Saturday and thought he had a pretty cool sound – so sounds like your instincts are right!

    Might I suggest listening to podcasts on your commute? There are a variety of them ranging from new music to technology to humor and culture. I use a $20 cassette adapter to hook up my iPod to the car system (lo-tech but it gets the job done)… If your looking for podcasts (shameless plug) my friend Pat and I do a weekly one at http://www.thisandthatpodcast.com

    Cheers,

  7. Clay Says:

    Mark, that’s great, I can’t believe with all the ranting and raving I’ve done regarding Best Buy, that I never came across that website. I’ll definitely be posting that on my blog, thanks.

  8. Pete'y Says:

    Welcome to the world of Physical stores, where staff rave how important customer service is, yet they have no idea on how to actually do well in it and the occasional huge lines because of hte useless checkout person. Buying online is so much easier and quicker. With things like amazon.com and ebay, and even supermarkets now doing home delivery, why even leave the house uneless its for a good reason, like a night out on the town?!

    Try a band called ‘Holland’, i’m not sure of what any of their albums are called because i’ve only got one of their songs, but there pretty cool!

  9. Duane Says:

    i guess the music radio stations in the silicon valley aren’t so hot, huh? as far as CDs go, i suggest that you use an ipod instead. in the wake of mp3 players, CDs are becoming obsolete anyway.

  10. Rose Says:

    in addition to the 30 min you wasted AT best buy, you wasted another couple hrs ranting about it, reading/responding to comments and googling (tho you prolly dont google anymore) antiBB blogs. *sigh* markjen, when will you ever learn?

    I am a fan of good music. and productive conversation. or for today, ANY conversation at all. >(

  11. ihouse Says:

    you could always take the google’s shuttle from SF and then bike to Plaxo…20 minutes.

  12. Ben Geyer Says:

    Well, I’d have to say that if you’re stuck listening to a single CD, David Crowder is a pretty good choice. He’s pretty good in concert too. A cd by Delirious might be a good choice. http://www.delirious.co.uk/

  13. Andrew Says:

    Use music.msn.com ….. heh… my group got org’d into their group. We’re now one happy family.


  14. Yeah, the Best Buy here sucks too, and I’m all the way on the East coast in Suburban Philadelphia.
    Same lines, same sloooow overworked (in the sense that there are only ever one or two cashiers on duty and it’s a fairly busy store) employees selling overpriced cds.

    I’ve started buying alot of my music on Amazon….it seems like waiting for the mail goes by more quickly than waiting in the line at Best Buy. hehe!


  15. Ah, the commute conundrum…

    Do what I do: watch movies! (http://mobilemovies.blogspot.com)

    I have to say, watching movies while driving has made commuting the best part of my work day.


  16. Mark,

    Simple solution for the commuting blahs: the “Commute-Cast” at kctsdigitalworld.com! Of course, the show is weekly, so what do you do the other 4 days? Don’t go to Best Buy….time to get a Belkin TuneCast for an iPod or other digital audio player… 😉

    kct


  17. Just read your blogs. Took my Toshiba computer to Best Buy with the “SERVICE” plan. They sent it to an outfit in California that they contract with to fix the items they sell “Service Plan”s to. They have had the computer for 2 months now and I keep being told that the subcontractor they sent it to is “waiting for parts”. Me: No computer for 2 months
    Best Buy: My money for service plan and my computer and lousy service.

    Add this to the list of complaints about Best Buy and their “service”

    Bill Daney
    Waco, TX

  18. Kevin Says:

    I had purchaced a 65″ Sony HDTV wide screen projection televition and a 4 year performance service protection plan in 2004. All sounds great right? Well now that I am having problems with the televition the warrenty doen’t cover the problem I am having with it. Convenant for Best Buy and there so called PSP. I am getting two vertical black lines about 6 inches off of each end of the TV. I spent 2,600 dollors for this monster and 300 for the warrenty. I am told that it is called “BURN IN” and that isn’t covered in the warrenty that they claim is in the discamier that I have failed to notice or see. I went to the Best Buy web site and read the warrenty information and I don’t see that info anywhere. What I do see is Best Buy boasting that they will repair or replace the tv from normal wear and tear and many other issues that may arise. I feel I have been ripped off and I have waisted 3,000 dollars from a place called Best Buy who dosn’t give a rip about the customers. I believe they own me a new replacement or at least have this one fixed. If there is any help out there that will get my television fixed or replaced please advise. By the way, my family and I purchace thousands of dollars of merchandice each year from BB and I will influance every one I know in every avenue I can to shop else where. I will NEVER step foot in a Best Buy again unless this problem is taken care of to my satisfaction.

  19. martin Says:

    I bought a computer package with a 3 years service agreement. When buying the computer they offered rebates. My monitor blew up today so I took it in to best buy expecting a replacement. Best buy told me that since I received a hundred dollars in rebates that is to be deducted off the amount of the monitor. So instead of replacing my monitor which cost $170.00 new at that time, Best Buy told me that I am going to receive a $70.00 dollars towards a replacement monitor. I tought by buying the service agreement I would receive a replacement monitor at no cost. The rebates that they gave me they are now taking back. So beware when you buy this service agreement at best buy… that is very much worthless…. I feel that I’ve been ripped off. Costumer service manager did not seem to care about the costumer, very cold treatment. I will never ever shop in Best Buy again.
    Best Buy on Orange Blossom Trail, Orlando Florida is where I received this treatment. Also I left the monitor there and did not purchase anything from them.

  20. tom francisco Says:

    BEST BUY SUCKS!!!! 4 a big company their best solutions 2 ur problem is 2 pay them back twice…i had a recent encounter with their so called GEEK SQUAD..they came and couldnt finish d job..but stupid of me i issued them a check..so i called my bank n put a stopped payment on it..make d story short they came back a week later n fix my computer and issue them another check for d job..about a week later a letter fr collection agency came asking 4 money i supposed 2 owe at BEST BUY..called geek squad told me 2 go 2 my local best buy, told me 2 call CORPORATE told me the BEST SOLUTION the CUSTOMARE CARE can offer me is 2 pay the collection agency..bcz thers nothing dey can do about it…so thats my story..NO MORE BEST BUY 4 me….but dey offer 2 refund me 4 it n i told dem dat is not my point…dey said 2 bad….

  21. nutontomy Says:

    Just discovered a complete list of all marked down products at Amazon, sorted by category
    and % off, ranging from 50% off to 90% off (thanks Sonja for the effort).

    Actually I never thought Amazon would have articles with 90% off, but only in the category
    Electronics there are more than 3000 of them – look for yourself, the list is on
    Bargain Hunter (which is a blog of a woman who specializes in finding good deals at
    Amazon, like Britain’s “Jeanie”).

  22. Belen Says:

    My husband just bought his laptop November 23,2008 Sunday. We arrived at 3 PM and we were able to get the laptop at 4:48 PM. It so much wasted our time!!!We got the run around when we ask for our order. So many employees but they’re just going around. Attending to every customer for a while but not focusing on one. So, it seemed that the agent that we talked to about buying and getting the laptop JUST FORGOT about our order, so the wait. It was just a mess that we nearly abandoned our order.
    “Their “service” really sucks. Their “techs” do not appear to know much about computers at all.” by Ralph Compton, September 23, 2008 6:52 AM. Yeah,Ralph…YOU’RE RIGHT!!!
    Best Buy should change their name to Best Wait..I think. I am very disappointed.

  23. Stephane Says:

    Hi Friend

    I live in Quebec,Canada
    I want in 2 store to buy a nintendo wii for my sons.
    The retail and fixed prices here is 269.99$CAN
    As you kwow during Xmas they are hard to find.
    rhe 2 other store i visit they did not have it in sore but the prices still the same…

    But i want to Bestbuy and they raise up the prices at 279.99$CAN
    I complaint and the manager tell me about the politic and to equal the prices items most be in stock at the competitor.
    Helllo we are Xmas ??? This is not legal at all. Abuse

    Bestbuy Lasalle Montreal

  24. Salil Says:

    The only time you should be going to geek squad is hardware problems. Unfortunately i got stuck going there for a virus and they ripped me off as usual. $180 to remove the virus……i could have bought half a new pc from dell at that price. Anyway worked fine for a week then the virus was back!!!! called them up and told them i expect them to fix it for free and they said that a week was too long and i could have gotten a new virus on my own! I hate these guys. did some googling and found this company (boxaid) that removes viruses over the internet….they nailed me for another $90 but i refuse to pay another dime to those bas***ds at geek squad.


Leave a Reply

