Cingular tops the charts… in complaints

March 29, 2005

Looks like after the merger with AT&T Wireless, Cingular is #1 in quite a few areas. According to Consumer Reports, Cingular blows by all other wireless providers in number of complaints per million customers; almost twice as many complaints as Sprint and a staggering four times as many as Verizon.

It’s not hard to figure out why. AT&T already had a bunch of problems – I didn’t know of a single AT&T customer who was completely satisfied – and after the merger, Cingular’s been implementing a bunch of rules that make the experience even worse. I’m one of the pre-merger AT&T subscribers and every time I think about my experience, I get annoyed.

Want to add a line? Change your plan? Get features like rollover? Too bad. You have to buy a new phone and sign a new contract. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with my current account and my Audiovox SMT5600; I just got in less than 6 months ago! First off, Cingular should be able to change my account features without having to issue me a new SIM card. Secondly, even if they insist on issuing a new SIM card, at least let me keep my phone. Lastly, if you insist on issuing me a new SIM card and a new phone, you’d better not charge me for any of this unnecessary swapping.

Of course, there aren’t any better options really. All the cool phones are GSM nowadays and T-Mobile’s network is the same or worse than Cingular’s in most areas. I guess we can only hope that one day, wireless service in the US will be better. In the meantime, we’ll be stuck choosing between the lesser of multiple evils. (Is it just me or does it seem like we’re always choosing between the lesser of evils? :P)

8 Responses to “Cingular tops the charts… in complaints”


  1. Cingular con el peor servicio al cliente

    Por ser un usuario de Cingular, por favor lean  Plaxoed:”Looks like after the merger with AT&T Wireless, Cingular is #1 in quite a few areas. According to Consumer Reports, Cingular blows by all other wireless providers in number of complain…

  2. jim Says:

    at&t messed up my account so badly i spent two months unraveling the mess they created with their helpless CSRs…I called up the other day and discovered I was on a two year agreement! (they changed it down of course but…) I love hearing how everyone else hates at&t wireless too.

  3. rose Says:

    all i want to know is, do you still get your corp discount???

  4. rose Says:

    why did you change the smileys? they look out of place.

  5. zia Says:

    File a complaint with the FCC. That’s what I did, and they were on the phone with me so fast it made my head spin. I’m pretty happy with what I managed to get out of the deal too.

  6. anonymous Says:

    will cingular survive?

  7. anonymous Says:

    God help Cingular repair what they have demonstrated in our community.

    Our younger generation could use some of this money for practicing good business ethics, TRUTH, UPHOLDING GOOD CONTRACTS, AND NOT PUTTING YOUTH UP TO LYING TO THE PUBLIC. This harms their character in their future employment opps.


  8. […] through his troubles at Google, and now into his life at Plaxo.I’d like to point out this post about customer satisfaction (or rather, lack thereof) with Cingular service post-AT&T.Mark […]


Leave a Reply

