Die iTunes! I can finally get a iPod Shuffle

April 12, 2005

Found out through engadget that Martin Fiedler has created a little hack that allows me to drag-drop music files to an iPod shuffle, bypassing the need to have iTunes installed. To me, this is great news; the two reasons I haven’t gotten an iPod yet are that I’d need to use iTunes and it doens’t support WMA files. Martin’s hack effectively mitigates my first complaint and with my WMA collection shrinking (especially now that Windows Media Player 10 has built-in mp3 encoding support), the second complaint doesn’t matter much anymore either.

Now I just have to decide whether to get 512MB or 1GB. Ahhh… decisions, decisions πŸ™‚

No Responses Yet to “Die iTunes! I can finally get a iPod Shuffle”

  1. Devin Reams Says:

    Hi Mark, I just dragged/dropped a .WMA into iTunes onto my shuffle and it quickly and conviently converted it… so, I guess it was really only one reason?


  2. iTunes can automatically convert WMA files into AAC (Apple’s format) without any problem.
    http://www.apple.com/itunes/import.html

    I don’t know why you would want to avoid using iTunes. It is a wonderful piece of software.

  3. markjen Says:

    While iTunes does support automatic conversion, it causes a loss of quality. I’m the type who can tell a difference between 128kbps and 192kbps, so conversion is not an option.

    When I first looked at iTunes, I didn’t like the interface. I’m downloading it now to see if they’ve made any improvements…

  4. markjen Says:

    Hmm… am I missing something or does iTunes not support skins? I don’t like their regular interface, nor do I like their mini interface; what options do I have? Plus, iTunes doesn’t integrate with my Taskbar like WM10 does.

    I don’t see any redeeming features for iTunes. Am I missing something?


  5. […] gital music Fortune Mark mentioned that he’s planning on buying an iPod Shuffle and later blogged that iTunes is missing features like skins. Tha […]

  6. ddouglas Says:

    after reading this post, i wondered if you ever used itunes. btw, there are many applications than can convert wma files to mp3 (and other formats). i’m also wondering why you want to get the storage deficient ipod shuffle instead of an ipod mini. nonetheless, i can understand why you wouldn’t want the excessive standard ipod.

  7. markjen Says:

    ddouglas – I have used iTunes, but am less than impressed with the interface. I don’t see why people are such fans of the software; it doesn’t strike me as being any better than Windows Media Player…

    That being said, I do have iTunes installed on two of my computers now. I’m not using is regularly, but we’ll see if it grows on me. πŸ™‚

  8. Tom Says:

    hi mark, the problem with your ipod is it doesn’t support Napster to Go which has completely expanded my musical horizons. It even works on my SMT5600 smartphone πŸ™‚

  9. markjen Says:

    Tom – Good point, I haven’t tried Napster To Go… although I’ve heard people can share accounts, so maybe I should ask around for a trial πŸ˜‰

    I actually have a SMT5600 also with a 512MB miniSD card… I haven’t put any music on it yet though. I am concerned that I’ll kill my battery listening to music and then I won’t be able to send/recieve calls :O

  10. Tom Says:

    battery life is surprisingly fine. i listen to it for a good 1.5 hours a day and just plug the charger in before i go to bed. i suppose if you’re doing a long trip it might be more of a problem but def works for me.

    def try napster to go, paying $0.99 a song will either kill your budget or force you only to listen to music you know well.

    the other great service is audible which has enabled me to do a lot of “reading” on the commute.

  11. Sean Says:

    Napster-To-Go files are 128kbps WMA too. Still no good for Mark. Or me. Would it really hurt these people to encode at 320? I reckon 192 is as low as people should be prepared to accept for a commercial product. FM Radio sounds about the same as this.

    Mark: I switched to iTunes from Windows Media Player because iTunes seems so intuitive and easy to use. WMP constantly fought me (like a lot of Microsoft software come to think of it). Drag-and-drop didn’t work precisely where it would have been useful; sooooo much right-clicking required to create playlists and add content; where the hell is the Equalizer when you need it?? Blech.

    Mind you, I’m getting increasingly impatient with GUIs. I just want things to work. Maybe I oughta switch to The Cult Of Mac? πŸ˜‰

    By the way, iTunes will embed into the Windows Taskbar if you like.
    1. Right click on task bar, choose Toolbars->iTunes
    2. Fire up iTunes and ensure it doesn’t minimise to the System Tray.

    Voila.

  12. Sean Says:

    Oops. Dropped a back there somewhere… πŸ˜‰

  13. markjen Says:

    Sean – Thanks for the tip on iTunes embedded into the taskbar. I’ll have to check it out.

    I’m right there with you about switching to the cult. Most likely, after Tiger is released, I’ll have a G4 Powerbook for personal use πŸ™‚

    I’ll definitely be posting up a comparo between my T42p and the G4 when I get it.


Leave a Reply

