iPod shuffle has earned its place among my gadgets

April 27, 2005

Product Image: iPod Shuffle
My rating: 5 out of 5

I’ve had my shuffle for over a week now and I’m still liking it a lot. It’s lived up to all my original expectations and more:

  1. With the no-iTunes hack, I can load up songs with ease. My shuffle is recognized as a USB Mass Storage Device and I simply drag and drop my music files onto it.
  2. Sound quality is top notch. (side note: I currently use B&O A8s, but I’m thinking of buying the Etymotic ER6i or Shure E3cs.)
  3. Battery life lasts forever; I’ve listened to it for hours between charges and never runs out.

I’ve been using the shuffle for quick file transfers as well. It works like a champ. The promise of plug-n-play finally comes through. Having suffered for years through the days of Win95/98/ME/NT4/2k, finally seeing devices like the shuffle just work is nothing short of amazing. I suppose some would say my standards are a bit too low, but oh well, I’m just happy it works!

I’ve only missed having the screen once. I was listening to the new 50 cent CD and I wanted to know the title of the currently playing song. Unfortunately, I was out of luck.

All told, the device has impressed me. I was skeptical at first, but after getting used to having truly portable music, I’m hooked. It’s like when you first start using a bluetooth headset… soon, you wonder how you ever used your phone without one.

iPod shuffle has earned its place among my gadgets
Other
5 out of 5
iPod Shuffle
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B0002ZAIM8/qid=1114669642/sr=8-1/ref=pd_csp_1/102-0719525-6260927?v=glance&s=electronics&n=507846

I’ve had my shuffle for over a week now and I’m still liking it a lot. It’s lived up to all my original expectations and more:
<ol>
<li>With the no-iTunes hack, I can load up songs with ease. My shuffle is recognized as a USB Mass Storage Device and I simply drag and drop my music files onto it.</li>
<li>Sound quality is top notch. (side note: I currently use <a href=”http://www.bang-olufsen.com/web2/systems/product.asp?section=systems&ampampampampsub=ls&ampampampampprodid=33″>B&ampO A8s</a>, but I’m thinking of buying the <a href=”http://www.etymotic.com/ephp/er6i.asp”>Etymotic ER6i</a> or <a href=”http://www.shure.com/earphones/eseries_e3c.asp”>Shure E3cs</a>.)</li>
<li>Battery life lasts forever; I’ve listened to it for hours between charges and never runs out.</li>
</ol>
I’ve been using the shuffle for quick file transfers as well. It works like a champ. The promise of plug-n-play finally comes through. Having suffered for years through the days of Win95/98/ME/NT4/2k, finally seeing devices like the shuffle just work is nothing short of amazing. I suppose some would say my standards are a bit too low, but oh well, I’m just happy it works!

I’ve only missed having the screen once. I was listening to the <a href=”http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/redirect?tag=99zeros-20&ampampampampcreative=9325&ampampampampcamp=1789&ampampampamplink_code=ur2&ampampampamppath=tg/detail/-/B0007P3582/qid=1114670611/sr=8-1/ref=pd_csp_1?v=glance%26s=music%26n=507846″>new 50 cent CD</a> and I wanted to know the title of the currently playing song. Unfortunately, I was out of luck.

All told, the device has impressed me. I was skeptical at first, but after getting used to having truly portable music, I’m hooked. It’s like when you first start using a bluetooth headset… soon, you wonder how you ever used your phone without one.

15 Responses to “iPod shuffle has earned its place among my gadgets”

  1. Filip Says:

    Please, don’t tell you, so experienced man, cannot see much better gadgets available these days. Offering much more than iPod Shuffle for the same or lower price.

    It definitely looks good but that’s just about everything.

    Or is there something I’m missing?

  2. Joe Burlas Says:

    I love the whole Ipot gone USB thumbdrive mp3 player, even though I am not exactly crazy about being the target of marketing that the ipod makes the person using it. However the hack makes it incredibly appealing considering that I don’t have to install apples lame software on my computer. Thanks for the testamony, I am considering it. Even though I love my MuVo tx fm. I am such a technology tool haha.

  3. markjen Says:

    filip – I do indeed see many other offerings with more features (i.e. the Muvo Nano/N200). However, if you check out the sound quality you get from that device and feel how heavy it is with the AAA battery, you’ll know why I prefer the shuffle.

    Are there any mp3 players that are smaller, lighter and have better sound quality? If so, I’d love to hear about it 🙂

  4. Hopluv Says:

    I bought a new Ipod (20gb)about a month ago and have not experienced one second of buyer’s remorse! You are right the sound quality is impeccable. I sometimes use some noise cancelling headphones that I have but they don’t sound as good as the set that came with the ipod. But, those hurt my ears after awhile. I’m going to check out the headphones you recommended.

    How bout that 50 Cent cd? It’s aiight…

  5. Filip Says:

    mark – I think iRivers, for instance, have great sound and the price is lower. Creative, we can discuss about scound but the price is substancially lower…

    Both have LCD so you can check what’s the song playing. Apple has undisputably better design but who cares while flash player goes to your pocket?

    I know this discussion is ridiculous – I only wanted to know why all Americans (I’m from Europe) are so crazy about iPods. Compare for example iPod 20 GB and iRiver H320 – more functions, cheaper, great sound Senheiser earphones. And so on.

    You you please explain me why? Is it only good marketing of Apple Corp. or something else? 🙂

  6. markjen Says:

    Filip – At your recommendation, I took a look at iRiver’s lineup. Are you suggesting a particular product?

    First, none of their products matches the size and weight that the shuffle provides. The N10 512MB is a possible winner, except that it costs $240 and only has half the storage of my 1GB shuffle.

    The only player I could find that was close to the shuffle was the Creative MuVo Micro N200 (also being branded as the MuVo Nano). However, the sound quality of this device is poor, the reliance on a AAA battery increases weight, and there’s no built-in USB plug so that it can serve as an easy USB memory stick.

    Am I missing something?

  7. Carmi Says:

    Apple never has to release the technically best product in a given market. They have to make it good enough, then bless it with an industrial design that will turn it into a fashion accessory. Macs, iPods, and now the Shuffle have all shown how successful this strategy is.

    Simply saying, “I can buy a better device from a competing manufacturer for less” isn’t good enough. Apple’s cachet – for better or for worse, it exists whether you support or oppose its strategy – puts its products in something of a different league.

    Glad to hear you’re enjoying your new device.

  8. markjen Says:

    Carmi – Good point about most of Apple’s products. However, as far as the iPod Shuffle goes, I haven’t been able to find a device that is better for less. So in other words, in the case of the Shuffle, it is both a better device and it has all the industrial design goodness.

    If you know of a better device, please let me know 🙂


  9. At least the iPod Shuffle is equally accessible to both the blind and the sighted since it lacks the LCD display. Too bad it used to require the inaccessible iTunes software. Where can I learn about this “no iTunes” hack?

  10. terry chay Says:

    Well there is the Super Tangent which I believe is the same size, around the same weight, and probably the same sound quality. It’s definitely cheaper ($80).

    As for the quality or how this product will appear in the United States when it such a clear violation of Trade dress…

    I’m still boggled at how well the Shuffle is selling after all this time. My brother and Caitlin still love the ones I got them though so I’m pleased with the product. I’d recommend it to anyone who uses iTunes…

    Also I thought that now Mac OS X 10.4 (Tiger) includes VoiceOver, the accessibility of iTunes has been greatly increased.

    One core strength of the iPod family is it is a platform (in spite of Apple). There are many 3rd party programs to get around the iTunes integration ShuffleDb and Shuffler are two and I believe Mark uses the former. There is a wealth of information which no other music player approaches. There are even hacks that allow you download music from your iPod to iTunes, which Apple frowns on.

  11. markjen Says:

    Hehehe, if the Super Tagent ever makes its way to a grey market dealer near me or becomes available for purchase online, you bet I’ll be the first in line! 🙂

  12. DDDepressionnn Says:

    There has come winter 😦
    It became cold and cloudy!
    Mood very bad 😦
    Depression Begins

  13. DDDDepressionnnn Says:

    Depression Depression Depression aaaaaaaa
    HEEEEELP 😦 😦 😦
    I hate winter! I want summer!

  14. wintervssummer Says:

    I very much love summer 🙂
    Someone very much loves winter 😦
    I Wish to know whom more 🙂
    For what you love winter?
    For what you love summer? Let’s argue 🙂

  15. osobo Says:

    Новый способ давления на кандидата на пост Главы г. Химки

    Новый способ “наказать” тех, кто посмел участвовать в выборной кампании не на стороне действующей власти изобрели правоохранительные органы г.о. Химки.
    Руководствуясь не нормой закона, а чьей-то “волей” сотрудники милиции решили “проверить” все фирмы, внесшие денежные средства в избирательный фонд неудобных кандидатов.
    Начались “проверки” с телефонных звонков – где директор, сколько человек работает на фирме. После чего последовали “письма счастья” с просьбой предоставить всю бухгалтерскую документацию, учредительные документы фирмы, и даже, план экспликации БТИ.
    Такие запросы химкинским фирмам рассылает 1 отдел Оперативно-розыскной части № 9 Управления по налоговым преступлениям ГУВД Московской области за подписью начальника подполковника милиции Д.В. Языкова.
    И всё это в то время, когда Президент дал прямое указание правоохранительным органам о прекращении всех незаконных проверок малого и среднего бизнеса. С это целью внесены изменения в Федеральный закон “О милиции” – из статьи 11 этого закона исключены пункты 25 и 35, на основании которых ранее правоохранительные органы имели право проверять финансово-хозяйственную деятельность предприятий.
    Видно, об изменениях действующего законодательства местные правоохранительные органы не уведомлены. И не смотрят телепередачи с выступлениями Президента.
    Может быть, эта публикация подвигнет их к исполнению указаний Президента, а также к изучению и соблюдению действующего законодательства


Leave a Reply

