MSN Desktop Search is RTW and it rocks!

May 15, 2005

MSN Desktop SearchJust saw this on the MSN Search Blog, MSN Desktop Search has gone RTW (release to the web) – or umm… “MSN Toolbar Suite with Desktop Search” I guess it’s called. Who’s in charge of product naming over there?

CNet is reporting that it will ship tomorrow, but it’s available for download right now.

Anyways, I just downloaded and installed it and it’s pretty sweet. They improved the speed of the “search as you type”, they updated the UI and best of all, they added a preview pane in the search results. Wow! It’s great to see teams at MSFT firing on all cylinders. Congrats MSN Desktop Search team, I think you’ve really hit a home run on this one. Ahhh, makes me wonder if maybe I should’ve tried for an interview loop on that team a few months ago 😉

The only feature I haven’t found is an advanced query builder. I’d love to be able to specify a SQL like statement for finding specific items (sent to “abc” and contains “xxx” but not “yyy”). Maybe it’s in there and I haven’t found it yet; anyone want to clue me in? Oops, I spoke too soon, I poked around the help file and found that MSN Desktop Search does indeed support the queries I was looking for. There’s no UI for it though, you have to use specific syntax in the query string.

I’m suprised I didn’t see a mention of this on Scoble’s blog yet. He must be sleeping or something.

UPDATE: It appears that Scoble did mention it. Ah, the Scobleizer never sleeps…

No Responses Yet to “MSN Desktop Search is RTW and it rocks!”

  1. Guy Says:

    seems that it requires IE though, so if you’re a Firefox user, no need to rush over and download it 🙂

  2. markjen Says:

    It’s bundled as a suite with the MSN Toolbar for IE but desktop search works regardless of what browser you use.

  3. Guy Says:

    Thanks for telling me. Ok, so I will go have a look at it then.

  4. loseridiot Says:

    you like MSN search cuz you got your azz fired from Google.

  5. markjen Says:

    Haha that’s pretty funny. I actually used GDS for a few weeks when it first got out of beta. I wasn’t that impressed. I mean, seriously, if you have a desktop app, why does it have to be accessed through a browser? Why can’t you sort your search results in GDS? How do you filter by the type of file or specific attributes like e-mail author? (I admit that maybe I missed those features)

    Lastly, why isn’t there a search as you type functionality? Why is the preview limited to whatever they feel like they should show you?

    I could go on and on, but I suppose every product will have at least some fans everywhere 😉


Leave a Reply

