YES! IE 7 has tabs!

May 16, 2005

Saw this over on Scoble’s blog, but IE 7 will have tabbed browsing. It’s been a long time in the coming, but hey, it’s better late than never right? The team gives reasoning as to why they haven’t added it yet:

Some people have asked why we didn’t put tabs in IE sooner. Initially, we had some concerns around complexity and consistency… will it confuse users more than it benefits them? Is it confusing if IE has tabs, but other core parts of the Windows experience, like Windows Media Player or the shell, don’t have tabs? I think we made the wrong decision here initially, and we’re making the right one now. I’d like to ask you to post a comment with your favorite or most critical IE add-ins… we want to make sure IE7 works great with them.

I don’t know how much thought they actually put into it, but my question is, why isn’t there tabbed browsing everywhere? Hey Longhorn shell team, if you’re listening out there: I want tabbed Windows Explorer as well. I can’t tell you how many Explorer windows I have open when I’m copying files around, organizing music, etc. I hope the tabbed design permeates through many other experiences.

Just think about it, how many documents do you have open at a time? How many e-mails? IM windows? I typically have pretty much a huge mess on my taskbar. 5 x Word, 8 x Outlook, 3 x IE, 3 x Firefox, 15 x IM, Photoshop, Illustrator, 40 x Notepad… I think you get the idea 😉

No Responses Yet to “YES! IE 7 has tabs!”


  1. Well, I kind of like the tabbed interface in Visual Studio (has been there since 7.1?), and I sort of tolerated it in FrontPage (been there since FP 2002?) but never have multiple pages up anyway.

    In FeedDemon, I lived with it for half a day before turning it off — it was annoying the crap out of me. I guess I am just not a normal web browsing type, but it just does not work for me. In IE7 the feature that is most important to me is turning tabbed browsing OFF. 🙂


  2. […] dead (finally!), and he’s not disappointing us in the slightest! Even before I read this post just now, I’d read the original source on Scoble’s blog. Basically the entire point of the st […]

  3. tyler Says:

    You’re right, bout damn time! Not that I really care as I’m a devoted firefox user now. I’ll never go back to IE unless they do something truly awesome with it.

    Epiphany ROCKS! 🙂

  4. bob Says:

    if you want a tabbed browsing experience that is better than firefox try http://www.maxthon.com. Maxthon is awesome , renders all sites correctly and has many useful features you wont find else where.

  5. tyler Says:

    I’ve used Maxthon. My dad turned me onto it actually. I don’t like it simply cuz it runs ontop of IE and therefore renders pages exactly like IE. IE seems to display pages howerver it feels like showing them. It can’t be trusted.

  6. iilwj Says:

    Once again the unasked question is the bigger one:

    Why, after beating Netscape, did Microsoft pull off all the engineers from IE and leave only a skeleton crew while making only minimal revs? Microsoft didn’t avoid tabs because they were uncertain about it being a good idea – they avoided tabs because there weren’t any engineers available to write the feature!!

    I think the hype that Microsoft is evil is mostly just stupid, but for this, what explanation is there? It’s like they just wanted to be sure there was no innovation going on!

    Why should any of us be happy about IE 7 having tabs? Screw IE. If Microsoft wants me to use their browser, how about innovating, rather than picking up a good idea 2 years after everyone else, and thinking that will placate us?

  7. markjen Says:

    Good points iilwj, there’s really no reason why MSFT should’ve pulled everyone off of the IE team and let it stagnate.

    However, the one thing that they do have on their side is that 90% of people will be placated since when they install Longhorn, they’ll be satisfied with the built-in functionality. This puts the onus on other browser developers to continue innovating so that people will still have the incentive to download their alternative browsers.

  8. bob Says:

    IE is a piece of crap.

  9. Bruce Says:

    Another way to look at it – Windows has had a tabbed shell since Win95 – its called the taskbar.


  10. Хм… Пока это у нас не сильно развито, так что придётся немного подождать.


Leave a Reply

