MSN Toolbar Suite 1.2 has Tabbed Browsing in IE!!!!

June 8, 2005

WOW! Who needs IE 7? Check out the new MSN Toolbar Suite. That’s right. They’ve shipped tabbed browsing for IE. Check out this screen shot:

IE with Tabbed Browsing

Looks like I’ll have to retrain my crtl-t/crtl-w from Firefox to ctrl-t/ctrl-f4. Other than that, it looks sweet so far.

Oh, as a bonus, you can retrain your MSN toolbar search box to go to any search engine. That’s right, how’s about that for really empowering users. I’m impressed.

For now, I’ve retrained mine to go to Y! Search (by using this string: “http://search.yahoo.com/search?ei=UTF-8&fr=sfp&p=$w”) but as soon as MSN Search is on par with the other guys, I’ll just probably leave the default.

Hey friends on Amphitheatre Parkway, you hear that? It’s the sound of inevitability.

Did I get the scoop? I don’t see this posted on Scoble’s blog yet, he must be sleeping over in Europe 🙂

UPDATE: Ah, apparently CNet news.com beat me to it. Oh well…

UPDATE 2: Just updated the screen shot since installing the Plaxo Toolbar for IE (original one here).

No Responses Yet to “MSN Toolbar Suite 1.2 has Tabbed Browsing in IE!!!!”


  1. Yay! Now you can get all the bugs and exploits of IE in a friendly tabbed interface! 🙂

  2. markjen Says:

    Eh, I’ve resigned to the fact that both Firefox and IE will have bugs. I figure, as long as I stay patched up, I’m in pretty good shape.

    I’m more interested in which one delivers a better user experience. IMO, with tabbed browsing IE has taken a huge stride forward.

    And according to some, Firefox is no more secure than IE… but I won’t get into that argument 😉


  3. […] ken / Egg Mystery Tabbed Browsing in IE Just a quick shoutout to Mark Jen and all those guys over at Microsoft in the MSN Toolbar group. It’s great to see some tabs in IE, ev […]

  4. Derek Says:

    I downloaded the toolbar and noticed that the toolbar required that msn desktop search also be installed. I really don’t want that extra stuff. I guess there isn’t a choice since it’s all integrated into the explorer.

    Am I missing something here? I just wanted to try tabbed browsing on the toolbar. I didn’t want to install anything else.

  5. Adam Says:

    Neat, I suppose, but since I switched over to Firefox, I don’t really see any compelling reason for me to switch back. Does IE offer anything that Firefox doesn’t, aside from compatibility with some of Microsoft’s sites (duh!) and a dwindling handful of other sites?

  6. markjen Says:

    Derek – I’m not quite sure if they have download packages that include only the IE toolbar. I used to want the package sans IE toolbar, but now, all 3 toolbars earn their keep in my opinion.

    Adam – Yup, this toolbar isn’t really a super compelling reason to switch back; I’m going to give it a try though. One plus is that IE does pass on Windows credentials for Sharepoint 😉

  7. eKapa Says:

    msn rocks. big time.

  8. Filip Says:

    Have you guys ever heard about Maxthon? The IE core and LOTS of functions (tabbed browsing of course included)…

    I personally use firefox but if someone has some problems with “compatibility”, Maxthon is his choice.

    -fs

    http://www.maxthon.com/

  9. ken Says:

    where’s your plaxo toolbar??

  10. markjen Says:

    Ken – I had just reformatted my computer and hadn’t re-installed Plaxo Toolbar for IE yet. But now it’s back, let me update that screen shot 😉

  11. Jeremy Flint Says:

    You have to be kidding. You think this toolbar provides a good experience for the user?

    The flickering of the entire window when switching between tabs is horrible. Enough to induce epileptic seizures (not really, but you get the idea).

    I hope this is not indicitive of the tabbed browsing that is expected in IE7.

  12. markjen Says:

    Oh interesting, I hadn’t even realized that. I wonder why that happens… it’s probably something to do with the way they implemented it.

  13. The Toolbox Says:

    You, sir, are a Microsoft tool.

  14. ken Says:

    great, now where’s my plaxo toolbar for firefox or thunderbird!? 🙂

  15. markjen Says:

    Ken – Hopefully, we’ll have something soon. You can be sure I’ll be blogging about it as soon as we release as well so stay tuned 🙂

  16. Shawn Says:

    Summary of feature request:

    Add an ability to save a tabbed browser as a Home Page or Favorite

    I went to http://desktop.msn.com/ and installed the latest MSN Search Toolbar so that I could do tabbed browsing. However, after I opened more than one tab and saved Current as my Home Page or saved it into my Favorites, upon re-opening my browser only the first tab appeared. It would save time if every time you open up Internet Explorer in the morning you could open a browser with say, 10 tabs for your the websites you refer to most frequently on a daily basis.

  17. markjen Says:

    Hi Shawn – Actually, that feature kind of exists. You can specify a set of bookmarks opened in tabs as “My Tabs”. Then, you can click the little icon in the top left corner to quickly recall these saved tabs.

    AFAIK, you can’t set it so that your saved tabs come up automatically on IE startup, but at least it’s easier than opening up each tab individually.

  18. Mike Says:

    I’ve gotten the search part to how I like it and have now replaced Google Toolbar. However, the tabs are still buggy. Whenever I open a new tab, the screen flashes for a second and after the flash, the IE window is in “restore down” form, but still the same size as if it were maximized. I would like it if the tab problem is fixed so that there is no screen flash and the IE window stays maximized. Also, a “Search Site” function like Google Toolbar would be nice.

  19. markjen Says:

    Hi Mike – I agree that they’ve got some work to do. In addition to the flickering problem, I don’t like how the saving “home tabs” is not well integrated with IE, I don’t like how I can’t remap the keyboard shortcuts and I don’t like how I can’t set it to open a new tab in the existing window for links clicked in other applications. I trust they’re probably tackling these feature requests and more 🙂

  20. Mike Says:

    Newer version fixes one problem. IE no longer loses its place in the taskbar. It used to go to the very right of all other open programs when you switched tabs. It doesn’t do that anymore, but the annoying screen flash and the IE window going into the “restore down” form are still there. Also, to be more competitive with Google toolbar, there should be some kind of “Search Site” function like Google’s toolbar.

  21. uzair Says:

    plz give me tabs


  22. […] a quick shoutout to Mark Jen and all those guys over at Microsoft in the MSN Toolbar group. It’s great to see some tabs in […]


Leave a Reply

