Uh oh, Gmail broke :(

June 9, 2005

GMail busted

Hmmmm… I wonder what’s going on.

While we’re on the topic of web mail, anyone notice that AOL/AIM provides e-mail now? Go to http://mail.aol.com and sign in with your AIM screen name.

You get 2GB of storage, some integration with AIM and you get IMAP access (use imap.aol.com, port 143). IMO, the web interface isn’t as good as GMail’s yet, but with IMAP I can just use Outlook or Thunderbird. Nice!

No Responses Yet to “Uh oh, Gmail broke :(”

  1. Derek Says:

    Thanks for the heads-up on the imap support. I thought I had read somewhere that AIM supported imap but I wasn’t for sure. I almost considered switching to aim mail for my mobile address but I’ll wait to see if Gmail comes out with imap support.

  2. Adam Says:

    I think it’s cool and impressive that they’re offering IMAP access, but it’s not too feature-rich.

    For instance, no plus-addressing-to-folders like Fastmail offers, and that’s a real bummer.


  3. AOL/AIM Mail – 2 GB with IMAP access

    AOL/AIM is now offering free email. I signed up for one yesterday. If you already have an AIM username, you can access your webmail at http://mail.aol.com/. And today, I found out that it also provides IMAP access. I tested the…

  4. Zoli Says:

    It’s “broken” like that several times a day. What really s*cks though is the very unstable smpt implementation. I use Outlook with Gmail, and basically the default is that I cannot connect, have to use webmail to send 90% of the time.

  5. caa Says:

    On the other hand, I use Tbird with gmail 24×7, and I’ve rarely ever had a problem with SMTP or POP. Maybe 2-3 times over the course of the last 12 months. Personally, I’ve found their implementation to be rock solid.


Leave a Reply

