Back in Michigan this past weekend… let the weddings begin!

June 22, 2005

Michigan 06.16.2005 072I guess you know you’re getting older when your friends start getting married. This past weekend I hit that milestone – my friends Jason and Nicole got married on Saturday.

It’s a strange thing when your high school buddies start getting hitched, but I think it’s quite exciting as well. Jason is a very close friend of mine and he requested that I be one of his groomsmen. I’d never been a groomsman before and I didn’t really know how weddings worked either. Needless to say, it was quite a learning experience. I was really quite clueless – I didn’t know that the groom doesn’t see the bride’s wedding dress until she walks down the aisle, I didn’t realize that the groomsmen and bridesmaids would be “matched up”, I didn’t know that the bridal party sits at the head table at the reception… the list goes on and on.

In my opinion, it’s quite complicated, but at least now I’ll be a tad bit more knowledgeable when it comes my turn. :-O

I must say though, Jason did a great job planning the weekend. Basically, the whole time was hanging out with friends, partying and/or eating. I flew in on Thursday, picked up my tux, picked up Rose, went to a party Jason was holding, went to a bar in Ann Arbor, and drove home to Troy. On Friday, we woke up, met with the other groomsmen and went to eat, went to the mall and picked up a drink at a restaurant. Then, we had the rehearsal and rehearsal dinner/party. Saturday was the wedding day and it was pretty much a blur. Woke up, got ready, had the ceremony, took about a billion pictures, went to the reception and finished with an after-party at another friend’s place.

Michigan 06.16.2005 106Michigan 06.16.2005 007Michigan 06.16.2005 027

Sunday, we got a chance to chill out a little bit. My mom, sister, Rose and I stopped by my home church and then headed to Ann Arbor to meet up with my brother. We hung out around the University of Michigan campus and then had a nice family dinner. We finished up just in time to run to the airport and catch our flights back to the west coast.

Whew, it was a packed weekend… and the memories live on in Flickr!

No Responses Yet to “Back in Michigan this past weekend… let the weddings begin!”

  1. Thomas Yung Says:

    Mark, marriage is a great thing when you find the right person. Even though the traditional marriage ceremonies are quite complicated, it doesn’t have to be. For example, take Las Vegas weddings or the simple Hawaiian beach wedding. A lot of people get unnecessarily stressed over all the details. The important thing is to make the ceremony memorable and with the people that you hold the most dear. If you got the dough, hire a wedding planner. 🙂

  2. Ram Says:

    Mark,

    You have to visit India or watch a Hindi movie for one of our marriages. You’ll really feel that things are much less complicated here. We’ve got no wedding planners and the marriage ceremony goes on from 3 to 5 days. Of course evolution has allowed an abbreviated 1 day wedding 🙂

    –Ram

  3. Brian Says:

    You know you are _really_ getting old when you are a groomsman several second weddings. The hard part is keeping the names straight. Don’t want to call the new wife by the old wife’s name!


Leave a Reply

