Downloadr v 0.1 available for download!

June 24, 2005

downloadr2Just finished putting in the bare minimum features!

Here’s what Downloadr v 0.1 does:

  • Grab an arbitrary user’s photoset(s)/photo(s)
  • Allow you to grab sets or photos from a user

Here’s what you need to get started:

Pretty easy huh? It doesn’t do all that much yet and I definitely didn’t do enough QA, but it’s available for download at http://www.plaxoed.com/Downloadr.zip. The source is available at http://www.plaxoed.com/DownloadrSrc.zip.

No Responses Yet to “Downloadr v 0.1 available for download!”

  1. Derek Punsalan Says:

    The application does what you says it can do so far.. I’d like to see an option to download all images including private images from my own account. It would sure make things easier as opposed to downloading images individually.

    Constructive criticism of course 🙂

  2. markjen Says:

    Hi Derek,

    Actually, I just tried it out and when I log into my own account, I can see/download pictures that are private.

    The one thing though is that a picture has to belong to a set in order to be seen by Downloadr. That’s a bug and I’ll fix it up in the next release.

    Thanks,
    Mark

  3. derek punsalan Says:

    Are you sure. I have about 130 images in under a single set (of which 15 or so are public) and I can only see the 15 available to download.

  4. Chris Says:

    Cool application! Thank you for coming up with this one. Now it’s easier to download images without opening every single one.


  5. […] he great part is that the original images are downloaded, not the lower quality versions. Read More

    No Comments so far

    Leave a comment

    TrackBack URIB […]


  6. did you make that, mark?

  7. markjen Says:

    Yes I did Jordan (thus, I was able to put the source code up for download as well ;))

  8. Russell Says:

    I am interested in Downloadr, but also a better uploadr. I can only upload 6 files at a time. Is anyone aware of a better way?

  9. markjen Says:

    Hi Russell – I’m able to upload pretty large batches of images with Uploadr. However, I do get a random error sometimes and I have to retry.

    I’m not sure if the error is with the Uploadr program itself, or if it’s something to do with the web connection/etc. It does seem that Uploadr could be made more fault tolerant though… maybe I’ll look into that next.

  10. notext Says:

    This is cool so far – it’ll be nice when we can download non-set photos. 🙂

    2 bugs so far:

    1/ when you go to download photos and the folder selection dialog pops up, but then you choose to cancel the download… the files are apparently downloaded anyway. i’m not sure where they go, but the progress meter shows them each being downloaded.

    2/ photos with invalid characters in their name (like a * character, which can’t be used in a filename) cause the download to hang.

  11. markjen Says:

    Hi Notext – nice finds! I’ll have to fix those bugs for the next version.

    I need to update the code to use a different API call when grabbing a user’s photos. Right now, I grab all of a user’s sets and then all the photos in each set :S

  12. Andy Says:

    Thanks very much for this tool. Yet again, creative users come to the rescue and fill in the gap where an application is needed.


  13. […] You can use Odeo to listen to podcasts and transfer them to your MP3 player. And soon, very soon – to create your own podcast with Odeo Creatr, I guess…The synchronization program is called Syncr, which reminds you of Flickr with their Uploadr and Organizr. Mark Jen, who will remain in history as the blogger fired from Google, made Downloadr – a program that lets you download photos from Flickr as a bunch, instead of one by one. Do you sense the trend in the names? […]


  14. […] You can use Odeo to listen to podcasts and transfer them to your MP3 player. And soon, very soon – to create your own podcast with Odeo Creatr, I guess…The synchronization program is called Syncr, which reminds you of Flickr with their Uploadr and Organizr. Mark Jen, who will remain in history as the blogger fired from Google, made Downloadr – a program that lets you download photos from Flickr as a bunch, instead of one by one. Do you sense the trend in the names? […]


  15. When I download pics from Flickr, if the pic has no title, your program name the file as “.jpg”. Without the name!! Then, all pics after that is not saved because it conflicts with the nameless first one!! Can you fix that for me, please?

    Example:
    .jpg (first nameless)
    1.jpg (second nameless)
    2.jpg (…)
    3.jpg
    4.jpg


Leave a Reply

