Is Google punishing CNet?

August 4, 2005

I was reading a CNet article and I saw this at the end of it:

cnetpunished

My first reaction was: What you say? Someone set you up the bomb?

Did they get pissed about this story and as a result they are punishing CNet? I mean, obviously, they can do whatever they want (and maybe I’m just not enlightened here) but is this a normal practice?

Update: John Battelle and Tom Raftery have picked up on this as well…

No Responses Yet to “Is Google punishing CNet?”


  1. […] at one since my school days! God almighty guys, grow up will you? UPDATE: I see Mark Jen spotted this as well This entry was posted on Friday, August 5th, 2005 at […]

  2. Jason Says:

    Now we know why all their stories use information found on the web and no personal interviews. Though I like this article.

  3. J Says:

    I certainly don’t think it’s a “normal” practice outside of junior high school. Over on slashdot, there are alot of people saying “at least google didn’t sue,” and while I suppose that is true, I’m not sure how much better this is.

    I read the article, and I didn’t see anything that bad, at least by the (admittedly low) standards of modern media.

    It reminds me of your case, Mark- a random cracking of the whip. I don’t understand how people can work there with this constant cloud hanging over their heads.

  4. markjen Says:

    Hi J – I’m not really sure if Google would be able to sue? From what I can tell, nothing CNet reported is false and AFAIK you can’t sue someone for reporting the truth… any lawyers out there?

  5. rose Says:

    omg, lay off the AYB stuff…

    btw, you should check out the cnet top 10 web trends if you are seriously obsessed (and notice how the trend died circa 2001!)

  6. terry chay Says:

    Rose,

    How are you gentlegirl!! You have no chance to survive, make your time.

    Ha ha ha ha!

    (AYB will never die.)

    Take care,

    terry


  7. […] hs. Wow! Oops, I’m publicizing public information… oh no! Does this mean they aren’t going to talk to me for a year? I’m personally curious as to ho […]


Leave a Reply

