Playing with FeedBurner

August 7, 2005

Hi everyone, I’ve been playing around with FeedBurner. Sorry if it’s messing anything up in your aggregator. At Adam‘s suggestion, I started poking around with FeedBurner and I’m finding that it’s pretty cool. Here are some things that I love about FeedBurner:

  • Feed stats! FeedBurner has a good set of stats that they provide for free and even more stats that you can get with a “Pro” account.
  • Feed translation – they’ll take your feed and translate it to all different versions of Atom and RSS.
  • Easy portability. All the subscribers on my FeedBurner feed will always get my blog feed no matter where it is. I can just change the URL behind my FeedBurner feed and my subscribers will be able to continue receiving my posts.
  • Google AdSense ads! Apparently, FeedBurner is able to inject AdSense into your feed. Let’s see how well it works 🙂

The major problem is that it’s difficult to set up redirects from existing feed URLs to the new FeedBurner URL. There’s some help out there, but I might have to mess with it a little bit to get it right. Ah, I wish FeedBurner would make a WordPress plug-in that would make it easy 🙂

Oh, my new FeedBurner feed is at: http://feeds.feedburner.com/plaxoed

No Responses Yet to “Playing with FeedBurner”

  1. Spyder Says:

    I’m not sure how to inject this into the wordpress stuff, but here’s a PHP script that will permanantly redirect to feedburner.

  2. Spyder Says:

    or… there would have been, if wordpress didn’t strip out the php script 😦


    <?php
    if (!headers_sent()) {
    header("HTTP/1.1 301 Moved Permanently");
    header("Location: http://feeds.feedburner.com/plaxoed");
    }
    ?>

  3. markjen Says:

    Oooo thanks Spyder! Will this totally mess with aggreagtors though? Do most popular aggreagtors handle 301s correctly?

  4. Adam Says:

    Glad it’s working out for you :). It’ll be interesting to see if you find the stats surprising or revealing (“Wow, I didn’t know people were clicking on THAT item so much…”)

  5. Tom Raftery Says:

    Mark,

    there is a WordPress Feedburner plugin available at http://www.orderedlist.com/articles/wordpress_feedburner_plugin/ which does the redirection for you – no-one needs to update their feeds and you still get the stats!

    Tom


Leave a Reply

