This Skype demo movie rocks!

August 11, 2005

So I clicked over to Skype a few days ago and I saw they had a little movie on the right hand side of the page. I decided to check it out and I was quite pleasantly surprised 🙂 It definitely has the flavor of the WTF? Mate video from a while back and the animation and audio are really fun and entertaining. Here are a few frames of the video for those who don’t have time to watch (although once you see the frames, I don’t see how you could possible resist clicking over there 🙂 ).

skypemovie

I like the subtle commentary of how a PC is a huge mainframe looking thing, a mac is a nice package and a linux machine takes up a tiny footprint.

I wish they sold plush versions of the characters in this video. I’d buy an entire set 🙂

Update: Here’s a direct link to the movie.

No Responses Yet to “This Skype demo movie rocks!”

  1. Greg Says:

    How about a direct link to that movie?

  2. markjen Says:

    Ah good call Greg. I’ve updated my post with a direct link. (It’s a bit hard to find, had to dig through the HTML a bit 🙂 )

  3. terry chay Says:

    Well, I don’t know about plush toys, but you can get a figurine of StrongBad (one of the characters in the video) from here.

    Chris Shiflett is going to have one of the H*R characters on his new book from O’Reilly. Lucky dog.

  4. Greg Says:

    thanks mark! i wish every company had a marketing department like skype’s


Leave a Reply

