MSN Tech Filter better step it up…

August 13, 2005

msntechfilterbecause it’s in danger of being removed from my blogroll. I’ve been reading the MSN Technology Filter written by Dan Costa and I’ve been thoroughly unimpressed. You wanna know what really grinds my gears?

  1. Where are the posts? If I was getting paid to blog full time on a sector like technology you better bet I would be pumping out at least 20 posts a day. Are you kidding me? There is so much going on in the tech world Dan’s job should be child’s play. By my back of the envelope estimates, I think he’s averaging about 4 posts a day…
  2. Don’t talk about old news. Take this post about the Sony HDR-HC1. I saw it and said, didn’t I hear about this camera a long time ago? Yes, I did. Engadget posted word about it coming out 3 months ago and posted about a review 1.5 months ago.

    Take a look at this post on remote controlled humans. I don’t think it’s that interesting, but worse than that it’s a week late – Engadget posted about it on August 5th.

  3. Posts like this one about Madden 2006. Is this newsworthy? Some guy, Scott Raiola, who has been playing Madden since 1993 – which since he is 19 years old now means he started when he was 7? Why do I care about the personal, unsubstantiated opinions of some random person who doesn’t happen to like Madden 2006? I’m not disagreeing with the opinion – I don’t even have an opinion since I haven’t really played any of the Madden series – but what I disagree with is Dan thinking this is good enough to post on the MSN Tech Filter.

Am I evaluating the tech filter against the wrong WIN site? Is Dan piloting the MSN Tech Filter into a different space? Either way, he’s got about a week to turn it around…

No Responses Yet to “MSN Tech Filter better step it up…”


  1. It’d be interesting to find out who the Technology Filter is targeted at. My dad probably wouldn’t enjoy Engadget or Slashdot, and I don’t enjoy PC Magazine or “tech” columns in the various magazines he reads.

    I don’t read the Technology Filter because I’m fairly certain I won’t find 0day or more in-depth information there. But perhaps that’s not what their target demographic is interested in.

    But yeah, no need to lag 3 months in handpicking your stories (although, this may simply be a case of the Filter not having been around yet when Engadget broke the story).

    I also wonder if Dan is blogging full-time, or if it’s a side gig, and how many tech stories a day their readers *want* to consume (how many tech stories a day would you find in the New York Times)?

  2. MickoZ Says:

    It is finally your choice to read it or not and that is your opinion. However, up-to-date is not always making a good blog. I could see something about Mahir, and decide to blog about him today. But I guess it depends of your “expectation” and you probably expect something else out of this blog.

    I don’t remember who said this, but recently I read something interesting about business:

    mom and pop kind of business, do what they want and offer it to you. (meaning if you like it, they will have your business, if you don’t like it, they won’t. but they do what they want.)

    big business machine, do a lot of research and offer what their customer really want.

  3. The Woodwork Says:

    More libertarian hypocracy. Why big business rules…

    From a comment on Mark’s blog:
    I don’t remember who said this, but recently I read something interesting about businessmom and pop kind of business, do what they want and offer it to you. (meaning if you like it, they will have your busine…


Leave a Reply

