Free WiFi in Sunnyvale, Santa Clara, and Cupertino!

December 6, 2005

SBC and Comcast can’t be too happy about this

metrofi

I just saw the SSID “MetroFi-Free” show up in my wireless network list today, searched for info on “MetroFi” and found out that they’re providing free WiFi in my area now. I actually vaguely recall seeing a MetroFi truck on my street installing something, but I didn’t think too much of it at the time. Guess I know what they were up to now 🙂

No Responses Yet to “Free WiFi in Sunnyvale, Santa Clara, and Cupertino!”

  1. Fernando Says:

    Hello, Mark!

    I’m an editor of a regional art and culture magazine, in Brazil Federal Capital (Brasilia) region. We’d like to interview you. Pls, send me your e-mail to my personal e-mail: dmota@estadao.com.br

    Thank you,

    Fernando Borges

  2. Adam Says:

    hello mark!

    i’m an editor of a semi-regional art and culture and random crap blog, in usa federal capital (san franciscia) region. i wouldn’t like to interview you. pls, just know that i’m tweaking you for not posting to your blog very often after (as i recall) you tweaking me and others for lackluster publishing schedules 😀

  3. Adam Says:

    Oh, and on a more serious note… anything that tweaks the evil folks of Comcast and SBC is good with me. I know it’s trendy to complain about the phone and cable companies, but boy is it justified!

  4. markjen Says:

    Hi Adam – I know, I’ve been slacking on my blog posts… I just can’t seem to find the time nowadays :S

    I can actually see a MetroFi signal, but I haven’t been able to acquire an IP from that access point. Maybe I need a Pringles can amplifier 🙂


  5. Hm, no luck for me. I live 1 street over from Mountain View, which I guess will be a no-mans land between Google and MetroWifi


Leave a Reply

