Goodbye Celica, Hello S4!

December 22, 2005

Old and busted:

IMG_0005

The new hotness:

P1010031

This past Sunday, I finally got some motivation and posted my old 2001 Toyota Celica GT on Craig’s List. I wasn’t expecting much response, considering the holidays, but I got a ton of calls immediately. On Tuesday, someone came by and bought my car.

The problem was, I hadn’t actually procured another car yet… the buyer wanted to close the deal today (Thursday) so I basically had one day to find a new car. Fortunately, I already knew what I wanted, it was just a matter of getting all details sorted out.

So yesterday, I went to the dealer, test drove the new car, and worked through all the paperwork. End result: sold my 2001 Toyota Celica GT for $10500, and bought my new 2004 Audi S4 for $39500 out the door (~$36500 before taxes, etc.). Who wants a ride? 😉

14 Responses to “Goodbye Celica, Hello S4!”


  1. beautiful, man. the s4 is a true work of art. congrats. 🙂

  2. Allen Says:

    Nice. They still have new 2004s? You got a sweet deal.

  3. markjen Says:

    Thanks Adam!

    Oh, I should’ve said new for me, but the car is used. It’s got 14000 miles on it 🙂


  4. Congrats on your Christmas Present!

  5. Jorg Says:

    Q: What’s the difference between those two cars?
    A: $29,000

    What’s so great about the S4? (Not trying to be argumentative, really!)

  6. markjen Says:

    Hi Jorg – Depends on how you look at it. From a functional standpoint, the cars both get me from home to work and back again.

    Since I’m a car guy though, I have a great time driving the S4 compared to my old Celica; the power, AWD, and driving feel make it a sweet experience.

    From a stats standpoint, the S4 has an extra 200hp, extra 200ft-lbs of torque, a great AWD system, better brakes, and tighter suspension. It also is 1000 lbs. heavier 😉

    I take it you’re not into cars?

  7. Adam Says:

    Jorg,

    Don’t you know… he who dies with the most (expensive) toys, wins?

    Sheesh, what kind of consumerist are you? Or are you one of those commies or somethin’?

  8. Justin Says:

    I have a celica and would love to sell and get an s4…or m3…s4 is much more practicle for NE.

    Compare Celica/S4

    S4: better performance
    s4: better design
    s4: more luxorious
    s4: safer (4 wheel drive)

    Congrads!!!

  9. Jason Wischow Says:

    Hey mark – no rides for me – just the wheel and some hard heel to toe, and i’ll shrink your wheels by one inch in 10 minutes.

    btw, i would not say that it is safer because it’s awd… i would say it’s more dangerous considering your character, hehe

  10. rose Says:

    …says jay who drives a maxxxxx – talk about danger.

  11. soaklord Says:

    One key difference between the two: More doors! The S4 is a four door, so the lunchmates, etc fit in without needing yoga classes. Hmm… Better performance, better room, awd stability, gorgeous styling, I’ll take the S4 any day. Please marc say you got the six speed, not the auto! BTW, have you seen the new audi RS6 commercial? Great advertising and far better than the crap > ads. This will get your heart racing!

    http://www.visit4info.com/details.cfm?adid=27948

  12. Michael Says:

    Thank you for chosing a German product 🙂

  13. Ella Lubmerg Says:

    […]So yesterday, I went to the dealer, test drove the new car, and worked through all the paperwork. End result: sold my 2001 Toyota Celica GT for $10500, and bought my new 2004 Audi S4 for $39500 out the door (~$36500 before taxes, etc. ).[…]
    Yes, sure!

  14. Wordpress Says:

    developmentchinese jacketcompetition Chinesedressdevelopment capitalsilk clothesStreet grilchinese dresscultural womancheongsamhistory ÓÍÕôÆøÕæ¿Õ±ÃÓ°Ïì 0.819752571464823


Leave a Reply

