1 year ago today…

January 17, 2006

I started this blog. It was also my first day of work at Google. Check out my original blog post. If I had known where this blog would take me, it would’ve blown my mind.

As a joke, I mentioned that maybe I’d compile my blog and other thoughts into a book one day. A year later, I wonder if maybe I should actually put one together… there’s so much to my Google story that remains unshared, but that’s only the beginning. I’ve learned so much about blogging, “Web 2.0”, start-ups, discovering my ideal job, and more.

In other dates, a year ago last Thursday (1/12) was the day I left Microsoft. Since it’s been over a year, I think I’m officially allowed to directly poach people now. Although many people tell me the non-poaching and non-compete clauses are mostly unenforcable, I figured I should follow the spirit of the contracts I signed. Thus for the past year I haven’t solicited any of my old friends to join Plaxo, instead I’ve always waited until they asked me about employment opportunities.

So to all Microsofties who read this blog: if you’re interested in checking out Plaxo, drop me a line. We’re hiring across the board: devs, PMs, and test 😀

8 Responses to “1 year ago today…”

  1. G Says:

    Hi can somebody send me an invitation? Thanks

  2. maggie Says:

    dood, stop trying to poach my friends, man..

  3. markjen Says:

    (to the tune of Devo’s “Whip It”)

    If the talent’s really hot, I much poach it…
    And if they like to write great code, I much poach it…
    Poach it! Poach it good!

    Dooo do do do do. dooo doooo…

  4. Ryan Williams Says:

    Perhaps you should consider joining Doug and Ron over at Xooglers. Your content would fit in perfectly.

    Ryan

  5. Michael Says:

    Congrats! I still don’t know what I would need that “plaxo thing” for 🙂 But mostly because I’m forced to use Lotus Notes…

  6. rose Says:

    i have you have a good editor. and what is that song you’re trying to sing? do i know you???

  7. rose Says:

    errr, I hope…

  8. MsN Says:

    I just read a new hire’s post today about starting at Amazon and that reminds me of this blog. I came checking out the sensational blogger I once frequented and noticed the change of color from black to white so that tells you how long i have been out of the loop. I just thot i’d drop this line and congratulate on the passion and energy behind the blog, before I find out what plaxto is about.


Leave a Reply

