Met friends from AOL today for breakfast

January 18, 2006

A few days ago some Plaxo people were over at the AOL/Netscape offices in Mountain View and ran into Justin, the author of Tales of a Running Man. I’ve been a subscriber of his blog for a while and since he was in town, I invited him to breakfast this morning at Hobee’s in Cupertino. The food was good as usual and so was the company.

breakfast 002

Justin and Greg are both pretty senior guys on the AIM team and their depth of knowledge on the industry in general made for really great conversation. I assume we’ll probably be running into each other more often in the coming months πŸ™‚

13 Responses to “Met friends from AOL today for breakfast”

  1. Adam Says:

    Did you ask them the $1 million dollar question:
    “When will you guys actually play nice and support open standards instead of clinging to the same failed walled-garden approach”? πŸ˜‰

  2. Will Says:

    I just moved to the Silicon Valley a couple of weeks ago to work with one of your former employers. Lol.

    Anyways, just wanted to drop by and say that I love reading your blog and have been doing so for months.

    I just downloaded the new AIM with Plaxo. Nice Nice Nice. Now others need to follow suit πŸ˜‰

  3. markjen Says:

    Hi Will, thanks for the compliments!

    Which former employer of mine are you at? IBM, Microsoft or Google?

  4. Will Says:

    That would be Google… your most former employer.

    Seriously… Plaxo is an amazing concept. I really dig it. Now people need to get on the bandwagon…

    -Will

  5. markjen Says:

    Hi Will, congratulations on the new job and thanks for the compliments on Plaxo. Want to host me for lunch sometime? πŸ˜‰

  6. Adam Says:

    > Want to host me for lunch sometime?

    Mark, you’re completely shameless. But openly so. I kinda have to admire that about you πŸ˜€

  7. rose Says:

    in my opinion, mark is just shameful. seroiusly, who calls random people whose blog you subscribe to your “friends”

  8. Adam Says:

    > who calls random people whose blog you subscribe to your β€œfriends”

    Someone really friendly?
    Or — wait — was that a trick question? πŸ˜€

  9. rose Says:

    shut up.

  10. Kassie Says:

    hey my name is maria add me on aol kassiemudogs10 if ya want to add me

  11. Kassie Says:

    hey my name is kassie** add me on aol kassiemudogs10 if ya want to add me

  12. Kassie Says:

    so r u like gay or sumthing

  13. Kassie Says:

    okay well greg i im u and u dont anser so like u prolly r u just one of those FAT rip offs and wen i said FAT i meant that u r FAT!


Leave a Reply

