#18! Not bad :)

January 25, 2006

Apparently, I made #18 on Business 2.0’s 101 Dumbest Moments in Business for 2005. Interesting stuff:

18. Perhaps they should change the motto to “Don’t be stupid.”
New Google employee Mark Jen adds a post to his blog in which he says he spent his first day in an HR presentation about “nothing in particular.” Apparently, Jen snoozed through the company’s strict disclosure rules. In a subsequent post, he reveals that the company expects unprecedented revenues and profit growth in 2005, projections that Google has yet to share with Wall Street. Jen soon receives another presentation from HR: a pink slip.

I would say that’s definitely a way to slant the story; what would’ve been closer to the truth is that I was fired because I violated the first two unspoken rules at Google: “You don’t talk about Google”. But hey, that’s just semantics; the article is pretty funny ๐Ÿ˜€

11 Responses to “#18! Not bad :)”

  1. david yang Says:

    gratz mark on this dubious honor!


  2. I was reading the list, and that one made me think “I should see if that guy still has a blog.” A quick search (via Google) later, and there you are. Good to see that you’re able to look back on all of that in good spirits!

  3. MickoZ Says:

    Mark… do you own google share?

  4. Michael Says:

    Which is the second unspoken rule then?

  5. david yang Says:

    both the first rule and the second rule are “you don’t talk about google.” a joke from fight club

  6. markjen Says:

    Michoz – nope, I don’t own any shares.

    Michael – Not sure if you’re kidding, but “the first two rules” thing is a reference to Fight Club ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Michael Says:

    Never seen that movie although it showed on free TV a few days ago).

    I thought I was on to something mysterious and was the first to spot that you actually only posted ONE rule ๐Ÿ™‚


  8. […] plaxoed! ยป #18! Not bad [Mark Jenโ€™s life @ Plaxo] Quote: “Apparently, I made #18 on Business 2.0โ€™s 101 Dumbest Moments in Business for 2005. Interesting stuff:” (tags: google controversy mark_jen) […]

  9. Will Says:

    Nice stuff. I just got my Business 2.0 in the mail. Now I have the printed version of that quote, Mark. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    -Will

  10. Chris G. Says:

    I think you’ve been a class act through all of this, Mark and I’m glad to see you’re doing well at Plaxo. It’s a great product, by the way.

  11. Happy Pete Says:

    Heh…Glad you liked; my brother is one of the co-authors. [and also the author of ditherati, where you can see silliness from the “digerati,” daily.


Leave a Reply

