4 things…

February 15, 2006

I rarely do these things, but Adam tagged me and hey, it’s a good exercise to get the juices flowing this morning…

Four jobs I’ve had:
1. Associate Product Manager at Google
2. Program Manager at Microsoft
3. Software Engineer at IBM
4. lowly peasant at Abercrombie and Fitch

Four movies I can watch over and over:
1. Napoleon Dynamite “You think anybody wants a roundhouse kick to the face while I’m wearing these bad boys? Forget about it. ”
2. Office Space “Well, I generally come in at least fifteen minutes late, ah, I use the side door – that way Lumbergh can’t see me, heh – after that I sorta space out for an hour.”
3. Shawshank Redeemption “Get busy living, or get busy dying.”
4. Memento “You see I’ve got this problem, I can’t make new memories”

Four Places I’ve Lived:
1. Seattle, WA
2. Bellevue, WA
2. Ann Arbor, MI
3. Troy, MI

Four TV Shows I Love:
1. Family Guy
2. Simpsons
3. Sopranos
4. Seinfield

Four Places I’ve Vacationed:
1. Taiwan
2. Hong Kong
3. Whistler, BC
4. Austin, TX

Four of my favourite dishes:
1. Chicken Shwarma from Med. Kitchen in Bellevue
2. Chateaubriard from Met Grill in Seattle
3. Spicy Korean tofu soup from My Tofu House in SF
4. Double-double from In-n-out

Four sites I visit daily:
1. My Bloglines feeds
2. Live! Mail beta
3. Internal Plaxo Sharepoint server
4. who vists sites anymore? with RSS the feeds come to me bwahaha!

Four places I would rather be right now:
1. Seattle (maybe in Redmond, MSFT Building #8 😉 )
2. On any mountain snowboarding…
3. Europe! never been there before 🙂
4. In bed… zzzzzzzzz

Four bloggers I am tagging:
1. Rose
2. Terry
3. Dennis
4. Dru

7 Responses to “4 things…”


  1. hmm, i’ll definitely have to check out med. kitchen!

    and now you’ve really got me wondering what’s in building 8? 😉


  2. 4 things……

    Good thing I had some free time in my hotel room to catch up on some blogs… otherwise I might not have noticed that Mark tagged me. Four jobs I’ve had: 1. Program Manager at Microsoft 2. Network Engineer Intern at Dresdner at 75 Wall St — Dresdne…

  3. rose Says:

    seriously, what’s in bldg 8???

  4. Micheal Says:

    Hey up Mark.

    Im a student at Univerity in the UK , studying computing science. A problem ive found is that employers are seeking people with proven experience yet when your are university its not practical to ask a student for proven industry experience. So its a catch 22 situation.

    Youve worked at some pretty good companies looking at your list ie IBM, MS, Google, Plaxo .

    Just wondering whether you had any tips on getting a first job out of Uni .

  5. markjen Says:

    Hi Micheal – I hear what you’re saying, and it’s an interesting market right now. Some places are looking for more senior people, but in my experience I’ve seen Microsoft and Google hire aggressively for students fresh out of college. They are pretty selective, but if you hone your interviewing skills, you should be able to get in no problem.

    Alternatively, I know lots of consulting firms are always hiring. It’s a pretty accessible way to get some experience and start off a career, regardless of where you want to go – MBA, engineering, product management, etc.

    Good luck! Mark

  6. Micheal Says:

    Mark, Cheers for the Reply.

    If you can give me help/mpre info on the interview techniques and getting through them.

    Also if you know of any potential companies / consulting firms that may be of interest then feel free to email me.

    Cheers Again

  7. rose Says:

    you are smrt.


Leave a Reply

