Google Local/Maps is a bit off…

February 27, 2006

I hope Google interview candidates aren’t using Google Maps to try to find their hotel while they’re in Mountain View… take a look at this screen shot:

hotelavante

AFAIK, the Hotel Avante (a common place for Google to put interviewees up for the night) is actually a few miles up the road from where Google Local/Maps thinks it is. 🙂

8 Responses to “Google Local/Maps is a bit off…”

  1. Steven Says:

    Did anyone see a significant increase of plaxo users after the partnership between plaxo and aol? Just wondering…

  2. markjen Says:

    Hi Steven – We’ve actually been seeing amazing growth now that AIM Triton with Plaxo built-in has been released to aim.com. We expect to see an even larger spike when AIM 5.9 users are auto-upgraded to AIM Triton. Thanks!

  3. Steven Says:

    Thanks for your insights, Markien. Are you saying 5.9 million additional users will be included in Plaxo’s database when they are auto-upgraded to AIM Triton?

  4. markjen Says:

    Hi Steven, actually more than 5.9 million additional users will join Plaxo when they are auto-upgraded to AIM Triton. When I said AIM 5.9, I was referring to the last version of AIM, which was 5.9 🙂

  5. Will Says:

    I like the Hotel Avante. I actually live right down the street.

    -Will

  6. Sean Beeg Says:

    well yes I got lost on the el camino real years ago trying to find a Days Inn so I can understand how google local can get lost too?
    Ny wife and I were traveling in Dover DE this past weekend, Google local acting up there also. could not find the MCDONALD’s right next door. Told me the closest one was 15 miles away.
    An hour later it worked?
    -Sean

  7. Steve Weiss Says:

    I’ve seen worse mistakes. When looking for restaurants near Big Sur, CA, Google Maps pointed me into the ocean. I think that bug has been fixed.


Leave a Reply

