Blogging essential to a career?

April 18, 2006

I saw over on Scoble’s blog that Bubba mentioned me and the Boston Globe article about blogging and how that is intertwined with bloggers’ careers. I don’t think blogging is necessarily essential – actually, I think it’s much more complicated than that.

In general, my opinion is that if you’ve got nothing to hide, blogging openly will help both you and your future employer(s). Through your blog, people will be able to see what you’re interested in and what kind of personality you have; I think of it as kind of a free market, where buyers and sellers can browse around and (hopefully) make more ideal matches. It works both ways too; if a company gets into blogging, then potential employees can kick the tires a bit before they decide whether to apply – good matches will try even harder to get in, bad matches will self-select out. (We’re trying this out on Plaxo’s blog right now, we’ll see if it works out πŸ™‚ )

Some might look at my experience and think: “but look, you got yourself into a world of trouble, wasn’t that a huge negative?”

But in actuality, getting fired from Google might be one of the best things that happened for my career (and not just because it made me famous infamous). It was clear that there was a culture mismatch when I worked at Google – I wanted to be open and transparent to customers, while their strategy was to strive to be opaque. Now at Plaxo, there’s a much better fit culturally, and career-wise it’s a much better opportunity as well.

So for me personally, the article is dead on. But I would hesitate to say that it applies to everyone; I’d say blogging can boost your career, but think before you leap πŸ™‚

6 Responses to “Blogging essential to a career?”


  1. This article has been a springboard for lots of interesting discussions. I’s a new blogger who writes more from an inspirational viewpoint, but just made a post that might interest you.

    Blessings,

    Shirley

  2. markjen Says:

    Hi Shirely, thanks for the link over to your blog. You’ve got quite an active Christian blog; looks like you get some traffic too πŸ™‚ Who makes up most of your audience?

  3. strimble Says:

    I will not torment the emotionally frail


  4. Hi, Markjen! Your coming by my site recently brought me over here and I see you asked me a question way back in April that I’m only now seeing. Sorry about that.

    I don’t have a counter on my site that shows distinct visitors and where they originate, so I’m not able to fully answer your question. It astounds me that I have so many hits. Yesterday, I had over 400. Once when we had a lot of fun going on, I had more than 900 in one day. (Of course, I recognize these numbers are quite small, compared to other people’s sites.) I started blogging as a lark in February, but now take it quite seriously, and post almost every day.

    I personally know a few of the people who come to my site; others, from around the world, I have met through my blogging. It’s really a great opportunity to reach out and make friends with others. I love doing it.

    My biggest challenge is the technical part–and people such as you quite intimidate me. πŸ™‚

    Blessings and much success. Please continue to visit my site.

    Shirley Buxton
    http://www.writenow.wordpress.com


  5. I love you Jessiicaaaaa!!!!


  6. I noticed that this is not the first time you mention this topic. Why have you chosen it again?


Leave a Reply

