Two weeks after the switch, verdict: meh

April 18, 2006

Well, it’s been just a little bit over two weeks since I made the switch to Mac. In the meantime, I’ve been using the Mac as my primary workstation at home and at work. I figured the only way to understand our Mac users was to become Mac and perhaps now I understand their frustrations a little too well πŸ™‚

There’s always the obvious ones: websites that only work in IE, utilities that are only written for Windows, and the lack of a good docking station!!
Before I draw the wrath of all the Mac-heads out there, I’d like to say that overall the user experience is pretty good. A lot of things make more sense than in the Windows world; but of course, I think a lot of things make less sense as well – but maybe that’s just because I’ve been using Windows for 15 years or so…

Anyways, here we go!

  • The idea that Macs don’t crash is a myth. I’ve had mine crash outright (a grey overlay appears and an error telling me that I have to hard reset my computer) and I’ve also run into the spinner wheel of death, where one application stops responding, then the rest of my applications stop responding – even after I “Force Quit” the offending applications. Yes, I ran some beta apps (for example, starting up Parallels is always a gamble), but then again, I ran questionable apps on Windows too. I probably ran more random applications back when I was on Windows than I do now on the Mac (I always ask Terry what the best program is for any particular task and he’s usually vetted them pretty thoroughly πŸ™‚ )
  • My Mac is slow… or maybe it’s not as fast as I thought it was going to be. My Mac friends had always made fun of me when I said my PC was slow, they laughed and made fun because my NT kernel was so much less efficient than their BSD kernel. They made fun of the Windows renderer and how it still wasn’t fully hardware accelerated. But at the end of the day, I still end up waiting for the MacBook Pro to crunch away oftentimes. Now, I understand that I’m running many applications under Rosetta, so maybe I’ll take this one back when universal binaries come out for Office, Adobe CS, and Macromedia Suite, but as of right now: it’s slow πŸ˜›
  • The thing is HOT – and right now I’m not talking about it’s sex appeal. My MacBook Pro runs like a nuclear reactor. I have a sweaty palm problem and this brick of wattage isn’t helping πŸ˜‰ Before you ask, yes, I have a Rev D. with a serial number starting with 8612. The area above the F keys is insane – hot enough to burn me – when I’m working the machine hard (which is pretty much always). At least I don’t have the high pitched whining noise problem πŸ™‚
  • It desperately needs a second mouse button. Don’t tell me it doesn’t, because every other thing I do in Adobe CS, Microsoft Office, and even around the OS needs a ctrl-click. Yes, I can connect up an external mouse or a bluetooth one (which I do when I’m at my desk at home or work), but when I’m mobile I just need a second button on this huge spacebar of a mouse button.
  • There don’t seem to be any conventions on command key-arrow, ctrl-arrow, option-arrow, and fn-arrow. Maybe this is because there aren’t dedicated home/end/pgup/pgdown keys, but when I can’t seem to figure out what the convention is for moving my cursor over words vs. hitting the beginning/end of a line vs. hitting the beginning/end of the entire page. I usually just end up guessing and I have a 50/50 shot of getting it right. But then when I move into my next application, it works different – argh!
  • The audio quality from the headphone out jack leaves much to be desired. Maybe I’m spoiled since I hear the audio out from the iPod Shuffle is really top notch, but when I listen to music in iTunes it just sounds flat vs. on my Shuffle. (I’m using the same Etymotic ER6is on both the MacBook Pro and my Shuffle, so I don’t think it’s the headphones)
  • This one’s for Microsoft: I hope Sharepoint 12 has better support for Firefox/Safari πŸ™‚ We use Sharepoint pretty heavily here at Plaxo and it’s been pretty much death on the Mac. I usually just remote desktop into a Windows box and run IE.

Well, there’s my rant section. Maybe I’m just too early of an adopter, maybe I should’ve waited for the next version of Mac Office and Adobe CS… but oh well, now I’m just another voice in the Mac crowd hoping for improvements πŸ™‚

29 Responses to “Two weeks after the switch, verdict: meh”

  1. Chickeyld Says:

    I thought it was just me. I think “early adopter” is a stretch, I mean, the Mac has been around longer than Windows.

    We bought a mac powerbook about two years back, and ran O/S X on it, and we experienced all of the same issues you documented. I LOL at your description of the “spinning wheel of death”, as I call it the pinwheel of death – a little rainbow spinning round and round, mocking me and my audacity to try and access weather.com in Safari, instead of IE.

    When that little slot in the front you stick CD’s into stopped spitting CD’s back out, we gave up. I can’t replace an integrated CD RW drive.

    After two years on the powerbook, we bit the bullet and went back to the Evil Empire (read: Microsoft) and a Toshiba laptop. For some reason, I feel like I just became a Republican after decades as a Democrat, and I feel a little guilty about it.

  2. Jake Says:

    I, too, have asked for better Sharepoint support.

    Get all sorts of stories about directories and authentication and infrastructure, etc etc etc etc etc.

    I hope it improves.

  3. y Says:

    There are conventions on the behavior of arrow keys; they just aren’t always followed. Here they are:

    Sample quote: “The Option and Command keys are used as semantic modifiers with the arrow keys. As a general rule, the Option key increases the size of the semantic unit by 1 compared to the arrow keys alone, and the Command key enlarges the semantic unit again. The application determines what the semantic units are. In a word processor, typically the units are characters, words, lines, paragraphs, and documents. In a spreadsheet, a basic semantic unit could be a cell.”

    The fn modifier used on small keyboards acts according to the appropriate label on the key; for example, if the right arrow key has a small “end” on it, fn-right-arrow acts as the end key.

  4. y Says:

    Let’s try again: here they are.

  5. markjen Says:

    Hi Chickeyld – I meant “early adopter” of the MacBook Pro specifically πŸ™‚ As far as converting to Mac in general, I think I’m quite behind the curve, especially in some of the circles I’m in (bloggers, techie geeks, graphics people, etc.)

    We’re definitely kindred spirits on the pinwheel of death though; die pinwheel! die!

    I might be back to a PC next year when Vista comes out; and it might be a tablet PC too… but in the meantime, I’m going to stick it out on the Mac πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the comment!

  6. markjen Says:

    Hi Jake – AD/auth/infrastructure shouldn’t stop the Sharepoint team from making a bunch of the web part controls AJAXy instead of ActiveX. Hopefully they’re working on it (I bet they’d be prime candidates to help drive Atlas development πŸ™‚ )

  7. markjen Says:

    Hi Y – Thanks for a link to the “official” conventions… now if only those pesky application developers would follow them πŸ˜€

  8. jake Says:

    i’m a laptop carrier. Besides work on the road and at home, I have offices in several locations and I spread time among them throughout the week.

    I switched to a 17″ powerbook 3 years ago – I basically ordered one on the January day that they were announced.

    I had carried a Toshiba laptop for about three years at that point. It started with Windows NT and quickly switched to 2000. The OS got reinstalled every 6 months or so thereafter as the cruft built up and the machine dogged.

    I evaluated what I was doing (email, web, office, ssh, database) and decided I could switch. Project was the main point of suffering in the switch. Later Sharepoint support became an issue (it has improved with Tiger) – and that was a system that I championed.

    I’ve had one gray screen crash (early on – disconnected a USB external drive before it was unmounted — it was the drive I used to move files from the old Toshiba). No hardware failures except for a broken wire wrapping tab from the power transformer. I’ve upgraded the hard drive for size.

    The laptop is hot – I generally don’t use it on my lap. The 17″ is not that hot on the top side, though.

    It’s logged 75,000 (or so) commuter miles and 150,000 airline miles. Several hundred battery charges, sleep/wakeup cycles. It’s very durable.

    I now have a Lenovo X41 tablet. It is small and lightweight. It’s running XP Tablet Edition. All of my fears with Windows are coming back. Within a day of use it kicks out an error message at startup about a Symantec firewall DLL. I’ve got the base set of software installed (Office 2003) and I’m afraid to install any more for fear of breaking something. I’ve had to learn to be cautious on the web and with email again for fear of something bad coming through those channels.

    One comment contrary to a popular belief: laptops generally are not distracting in meetings these days. The powerbook screen hinge is really well designed – the powerbook, even with a big screen, maintains a low profile. A Tablet is distracting in a meeting. For one, it is not the norm these days, so it in itself becomes its own conversation piece and distraction. Plus, there tends to be enough fumbling with it above and beyond writing that it becomes a distraction when used.

    Good luck.

  9. markjen Says:

    Hi Jake, thanks for the info! It looks like you 17″er has definitely had a long and productive life so far πŸ™‚

    I’m about to get a desktop as a secondary machine, so I’ll probably be talking about that sooner or later on this blog. Let the OS X vs. Vista debates begin! πŸ˜€

  10. Jason Says:

    I couldn’t imagine a Mac running very fast at all compared to Windows machines. In our school our Mac lab is running mostly several-year-old machines; we do have one iMac G5, but even that is not as fast as comparatively priced (or even cheaper) Windows machines.

    Sure, Macs look nice, but it’s really not worth it to give up Windows completely.

  11. markjen Says:

    Hi Jason – I’m sure the current generation of Macs are much faster than the several-year-old machines you guys have got going πŸ˜‰

    But yeah, I hear ya on the price vs. performance thing; especially now that the new Intel Macs are the same HW as PCs, a side-by-side comparison just doesn’t add up (well, I guess it depends on how much value you think the $500 Steve Jobs tax is worth πŸ˜‰ )

  12. Yeehaw! Says:

    I’m having the same experience as you with my MBP. I quite astonished at how often it crashes. I just didn’t expect that from what my friends told me. The other strange thing is that while the HW is aesthetically pleasant I expected the SW to follow suit. It’s weird that stylistic conventions aren’t followed throughout the Mac experience. Windows seems to do a much better (although still not quite there) job.

  13. markjen Says:

    Hi Yeehaw! Good point about the stylistic conventions too. I hear there’s an official “Aqua” guideline that app developers are supposed to follow, but even Apple breaks their guidelines, so it’s pretty much the wild wild west out there πŸ˜€

    Maybe it’s that in the Windows world, most everyone just uses the same GUI libraries – or actually, same libraries in general (MFC, ATL, Win32, etc.) – so everything looks a little more consistent.

  14. Paul Says:

    I have a 12inch PowerBook and I am thrilled with it, even with the odd spinning beachball of frustration. I think it is still early days for the MacBook Pro and while my plan is to eventually get the MacBook Pro replacement for my little baby, I am happy to wait till these issues are dealt with first.

    Welcome to the Mac side of things Mark. It is a pity you aren’t having such a fantastic time with your new Mac. I really think they are better than PCs and I am thankful I made the move.

  15. markjen Says:

    Hi Paul – Despite some of the frustrations; I’m still relatively happy with the machine πŸ™‚ I’ve had my share of crashes on my old T42p too, so I’ve pretty much accepted it as a normal occurence.

    I’m sure they’re still working the kinks out with OS X on x86; by the time 10.5 is out, I’m hoping it’ll be rock solid.


  16. […] Mark posts an whine about Mac Book Pro annoyances. […]

  17. mac book pro is a piece of crap Says:

    BUYER BEWARE!!!

    I bought one, after mashing my 12″ powerbook 1 GHz (which I adored). This machine (Mac Book Pro), right out of the box, had overheating issues, keyboard noise and weirdness with the super drive – the thing choked on cds regularly, would crash itunes and would require a restart to stop the cd rom drive from grinding on the disc. Add to that, lots of weird and long delays for functions that I thought would have been relatively simple tasks – and ones that took no time on my old machine

    I sent the thing back through the retailer I bought it from, waiting almost 4 weeks for a replacement machine to come from apple (probably because I insisted on one from the most recent batch of serial numbers to take advantage of the hardware revisions they have been making to the logic board). I went to pick up the replacement today, and, again, right out of the box, there was the cd-rom issue (I tried the same disc on the display machine they had there and it was fine). On top of the cd rom problem, it was hot as hell AND the airport card wasn’t working!!

    Okay, on to the 3rd machine! CD rom problems AGAIN! even after testing it in the store! I brought the machine home, ran the same disc again and the problem is still occuring.

    Unbelievable. This is just irresponsible, money grubbing. Between the cost of the machine, and the downtime, this switch has cost me close to $7000… not to mention the aggrivation and the 6+ hours I’ve had to spend on the phone with various technicians and customer service reps at Apple. I can’t believe this machine is on the market.

    I guess Apple doesn’t care about their professional clientel (who almost exclusively kept them alive through multiple near-chapter11 episodes) now that the majority of their profits are coming from pimply-faced ipod consumers’ parents… BTW – I just went through a nightmare with a 40G ipod photo that completely died 10 days after the warranty expired but that’s a tale for another board.

    I never thought I’d ever utter this, but after over a decade of using Apple hardware exclusively, I’m seriously considering trading this paper weight in for a Dell.

    I’ve had more enjoyable experiences buying used cars.

  18. tim Says:

    If you’re running PowerPC apps on Intel (especially Photoshop), it’s going to be slower than it could be. That’s life. Sorry.

    Have you seen this way of right-clicking?

    The Mac arrow keys are the most consistent I’ve seen! Command-arrow is a big jump (l/r are end-of-line, u/d is end-of-document), option-arrow is a small jump (l/r are end-of-word). Add shift- to move the selection. Control doesn’t do much on the Mac, traditionally, but they do support control-F/B/U/P/… as Emacs keys. I’m sure some apps screw it up, but I don’t know of any.

    FWIW, my last Powerbook (bought 2001) never crashed. I guess that’s why they say to avoid the 1.0 of any hardware. It’s no excuse, sure, but it’s not terribly surprising that the first Intel ‘books aren’t perfect.

  19. Michael Says:

    I found this page looking for a fix for my constantly rebooting MacBook Pro. Thank God you can run windows on it because the Mac OS stinks!

    The resize handle is only on the bottom right, if the window is too big, you can’t even resize it smaller at all. I don’t get that.

    The maximize button doesn’t really maximize applications.

    WAY TOO HOT! WAAAAAAAAAAAY TOO HOT! Even when it isn’t doing anything processor intensive, just sitting on a web browser, why does it have to be 400 degrees? I’ve never seen a PC do that.

    Someone should be tortured for not having a second mouse button on the machines.

    Am I supposed to have a flat slotted finger to open the latch on the screen? I’m sorry, I didn’t come with one. Maybe there is an iOpener attachment that you wear on the end of your finger to open the laptop. They could have used a spring to help open the thing.

    The screen is getting greasy, I’m told “that’s how Macs are, you have to keep a leather protector between the keys and the screen when it’s closed.” You’ve GOT to be kidding. The genius hardware designers at the genius company can’t design another millimeter in there to keep the screen clean?

    You can’t “go into bios” and turn off that stupid startup dong? Try turning your Mac on in the back of a church DDDDDDOOOOONNNNGGGG!!!! That’s just ridiculous.

    Is World of Warcraft the first and only game on the Mac? That’s the only game everyone I know with a Mac plays. That game is like 5 years old and sucked when it was new!

    There’s no treed menu for programs and organization. Mac users tell me I can drag icons to the dock, but I can drag icons to the bottom of my desktop on XP. They also say there are third party programs that youc an use but I thought the Mac was so much better out of the box?

    It constantly reboots on its own. Whether running OSX or XP.

    I’ve had a lot of “1.0 hardware” and I’ve never had problems like this. Not to mention most of the problems are in the DESIGN not the construction of the OS and hardware.

    After a few months of being switched, I have to say that Apple has a great marketing company because they’ve got a (good) reputation that they sure don’t deserve.

  20. Michael Says:

    >>Have you seen this way of right-clicking?

    Yeah, that’s the other thing. For every Mac problem they’ve got some loser work-around. Greasy screen? Keep a dead animal tucked in your laptop. Right click? Hold your left arm in the air, pat your head, rub circles on your tummy and pull the fritzer key with your left foot.

    How is it all these people so willing to bend over backwards to compensate for the flaws of Apple can’t do the same thing with a PC? I don’t care what anyone says, I’ve never had to reinstall XP every 3 months. You’ve got to be a computer idiot if you screw it up that bad. Besides, most people I know have had to wipe their OSX install just as much as I’ve ever done XP.

    I think it’s a fatal case of Apple fanboyism.

  21. markjen Says:

    Hi Michael – your comments are hilarious; I agree with all of them except one:

    >I’ve never had to reinstall XP every 3 months. You’ve got to be a computer idiot if you screw it up that bad

    IMO, only computer idiots don’t reinstall XP every 3 months. There’s nothing you can do about the slowdown that inevitably happens – and of course there’s no replacement for that feeling of a fresh re-install with everything running 2X faster πŸ™‚

    I have had to reinstall OS X already once though, so we’ll see if I need to do so again in the next few months (putting this MacBook Pro on the same OS reinstallation schedule as my old T42p πŸ™‚ )

  22. tim Says:

    You Windows fanboys are so cute.

    N.B., for every complaint michael listed, the opposite is a just-as-valid complaint if you’d switched the other way. Zoom button doesn’t maximize on the Mac? Maximize button doesn’t zoom on Windows! No BIOS for changing settings? Dumb special-case “BIOS” thingy for changing some settings! No games on the Mac? No spyware, either!

    I guess if you want to play the latest games in church, the Mac is not for you. So sad.

  23. Ax Says:

    to michael:
    >It constantly reboots on its own. Whether running OSX or XP.

    Now I know your lying. The Mac don’t reboot itself if for some reason it panics. So everything else you said just lost credibility.

  24. baal Says:

    hilarity….

    I’ve been a DOS/Windows user for oh, say 20 years now? – I’ll admit DOS didn’t crash much, but then again people generally didn’t leave their PC’s on (power management what?) – XP is leaps and bounds beyond other MS OS’s I’ll admit, and as a recent switcher it IS a little infuriating until you un-learn windows. I’ve also been a longtime Linux user, and figured that I’d be OK with the Mac UI since I was used to Linux / UNIX / whatever.. wrong… most Linux UI’s are designed to mimic Windows, so what I new from there was totally wrong from a mac point of view. Now that I’ve been using my 15″ MBP for a few weeks I’m feelilng much more comfortable… (try dragging a block of selected text to your desktop, or elsewhere in a document, cut and paste with no extra button pressing.. cool huh?) Also Command-W and Command-Q make a HECK of a lot more sense than alt-f4, and the myriad of keys that windows apps use to control tabs..

    Mac OS is nowhere near as dependent as windows on the contextual click, everything is drag n drop and hotkeys… hence no right mouse button. Probobly the most difficult thing for switchers (like me) to comprehend is that you don’t *need* right click in the OS (do need it for games though, I admit, but it’s not like I’m playing RTS’s / RPG’s / FPS’s with a trackpad anyhow.

    oh yeah, and new MBP’s – put 2 fingers on trackpad, click == contextual click (“Right Click” is left on my….. oh nevermind) – also there is a piece of freeware that will enable two-finger right click on the 15″ MBP’s also.

    My last laptop, a Dell Precision M60 had a screen that smudged if you looked at it funny (some kind of funky coating) – plus it was klunky as hell.. I’m sure that apple could prevent the screen from touching the keyboard if they added another 1/4″ to the case to make it stiffer (and heavier) – but then again, not _everyone_ has greasy hands either? (I don’t personally have this issue) –

    As far as heat goes, mine’s a little warm (2.16 15″) – but it’s not hot on the bottom (the area above the f-keys gets toasty) – and yes, the speakers do whine a little while the cpu is throttling.. however.. this machine, even with whining is quieter than my old dell, and while playing games… that dell sounded like a farking typhoon on my desk, yes my mac gets hot while playing WoW, but it’s quiet as a mouse the whole time. I’ve had the secondary fan turn on once in the past 3 weeks I’ve owned this thing. I’m sure someone will come out with a hack if you think you know better than the people that designed the machine, and then you can run the fans flat out and have a cooler machine.

    As far as WoW… 6.5 million subscribers paying monthly dues, and new content added every few months… yeah, it must suck really bad, nobody plays it, I’d much rather be playing

    Ah well, sounds like you have a lot of angst for a rather expensive laptop that you purchased.. Disregarding comments about researching a platform and it’s hardware before switching, but thats water under the bridge at this point. Why not go ebay your MBP and pick up a nice Dell or something? I hear dell laptops get great FPS on in church…. Granted they’re big hunks of clunky plastic with little widgets stuck to them to make them more appealing.. (how many people actually USE “media keys”) – but it will stay cool (plastic generall doesn’t conduct heat well), and it’ll be much more stable for running XP (keep in mind boot camp is BETA, says so on their site) – hope you find something that’s more suited to your needs!!

    Cheers

  25. Damo Says:

    Nice to see Mac fanboyism ripe and rugged. You just can’t take any criticism can you.

    I have used Macs and PCs (Mac in the office, PC at home) for about 7-8 years, so I’m not an early adopter but I’m not a newbie either. There’s always been problems with both systems but my new MBP really takes the biscuit.

    If you list the main issues that even Mac have admitted that the MBP has, what are they – running hot, dropped internet, sticky CD…I’ve had ’em all. In just under a month.

    I haven’t taken it back to the store yet – for what it’s worth, the term Genius to me is the same as calling the guy who schleps coffee at me in Starbucks a ‘barista’.

    However, I’ve checked every forum and newsgroup I can find. What do I find? They’re full of the same problems and the same fanboys saying ‘you’re Dell will be worse’. Well I have to tell you that I haven’t had anything like the same problems with either my Dimension 8400 (2005) or my wife’s Inspiron 1300 (2006). In fact, they purr like kittens – nice and quick, hardly an hour glass in sight. Play fps like you wouldn’t believe. I didn’t have a single problem until I had to upgrade the firmware on my router. Why did I have to do that you ask? Because some Mac fanboy I believed told me that was the reason why my new MBP wasn’t picking up a perfectly good signal.

    Pinwheel of death? I got it. Especially when switching between home and work Internet.

    Noise problems? Nice whine, but I prefer beer.

    Heat? Don’t think I’ll be having kids after the last hour of this on my lap.

    Battery? I think my Creative Zen packs more punch.

    Oh, but I do have the little webcam thing at the top which is cool.

    I was really excited about the MBP and after working my G3 till it gave out I was so happy when I took it out of the box. That lasted about a day and a half – would have been shorter only I left it at work the first day.

    Oh, and I solved the two-button problem – I bought an i-Rocks optical mouse which is great. One nice thing about the MBP which makes using it alongside PCs a treat.

    So 7/10 Mac for the MBP. Fanboys, keep trying.

  26. Natron Says:

    Ax – I agree with Micheal, after installing bootcamp and XP, my MBP DOES IN FACT reboot on its own. Its getting very annoying!

  27. Michael W Says:

    Yall have an odd bunch -o- macs listening to some of those complaints/issues. I just got a MBP and find it runs XP (and Vista) much faster than my custom builts and HPs. As for the Mac OSX I cant say Ive had any problems the wireless is much simpler and over the past 2 months not a single crash. In the first few days the fans were abnormally loud but the calmed down after the first 3 days. Any questions feel free to email me mwinterholler@mac.com

  28. WL Says:

    I tried with full faith moving to a macbook pro from my trusty lenovo t61 and these were my top annoyances. I don’t want to confuse OS headaches, but more so … physical laptop design flaws.

    1. No built in right mouse button. Get’s really annoying when you’re used to doing simple tasks only finding out that you have to use 2 hands to do operations I used to be able to do with one hand. And by the way, I don’t want to buy a 2-button mouse and carry something extra.
    2. Shallow cheap feeling keyboard with bad tactile feel. My lenovo excels in this area – I consider it a gold standard for laptop keyboards. You would think something this expensive would get this right. I don’t care about illuminated lighting that drains my battery nearly as much as having good tactile feel.
    3. Extreme heat during normal tasks – it will seriously get uncomfortable on your lap. Try wearing shorts and putting your macbook pro on your bare skin – not too comfy. And for the person who defends the macbook pro about changing user habits to work with the machine….you sound like a windows user. Shouldn’t the thing just friggin work? If I want to put the laptop on something soft like my lap or pillow on my lap…I should be able to.
    4. Screen does not tilt all the way back flat to 180 degrees, stops at probably 110 degrees. imagine being tall, on the couch, with your laptop on your lap and not being to tilt it back for optimal angle – bc of this the picture looks washed out.
    5. Although it is the best looking laptop, being sleek, I find it annoying that the sharp edges dig into my skin while typing and its not very comfortable at all. It made me appreciate going back to a thinkpad because I never realized that thinkpad was smart enough to round their edges.

    In all, PCs have a bad wrap for not being elegant looking. But truth be told, regardless of OS, the Macbook Pro is far from perfect and is not at all practical enough for me. For me, my computer isn’t an accessory to my wardrobe. I actually use mine for work.


Leave a Reply

