Blogging on the Mac

April 21, 2006

I’d been using w.bloggar on my PC and was hooked on the ease of a desktop blogging tool. So when I switched to Mac, one of my first requests to Terry was for a recommendation on a good Mac desktop blogging tool. He recommended Ecto, which I’ve been using for the past few weeks.

I’m pretty satisfied with Ecto so far; it’s much more powerful than w.bloggar (it actually syncs your entries down and makes it easier to manage multiple blogs) and it does well at the basic stuff too. Overall, I’m quite pleased with the experience. Here’s a quick screenshot of Ecto in action 😀

ecto

I haven’t found a good replacement for the Flickr Uploadr tool though. Yes, there’s the Flickr Uploadr for Mac, but I’m using Aperture now to manage my photos and there isn’t an Flickr export plug-in (or I haven’t found one yet anyways). I’m currently trying out PictureSync, but it leaves a bit to be desired. I can’t upload a batch as a Flickr set to select the pictures I want to upload I have to go through a strange roundabout way – you put the pictures in a special Aperture folder and then PictureSync grabs them from there.

Aperture is a great tool for organizing photos, but I wish there was a tool that made upload to Flickr easy, like Uploadr did on the PC. I suppose if I can’t find something relatively soon, maybe I’ll just code up what I want. That would probably be a fun exercise, but challenging since I’ve never coded on a Mac before… is Xcode just like VS.NET? Do I dare find out? 😀

10 Responses to “Blogging on the Mac”

  1. Chen Says:

    XCode is like VS. You can install lots of extensions on it for other programming languages. I once wrote Ada on XCode and it worked out pretty well. XCode is a very neat IDE.

    Besides that, there’s an extension for iPhoto so that you can export photos to flickr directly. Try this: FlickrExport

  2. terry chay Says:

    FlickrExport is iPhoto only, not Aperture, which Mark says he uses.

    Currently he’d have to use Aperture2iLife to get his photos uploaded to the internet via FlickrExport.

    BTW, Frasier Spiers was working on working on an Aperture version but it got held up because he can’t run Aperture on his notebook. PictureSync is the current compromise and one in which, as an Aperture user, I can say I’m not really happy with, though I welcome the development.

  3. terry chay Says:

    BTW, if you version title and describe and keyword your Aperture photos, Flickr will read the metadata on export and title, describe and tag it.

  4. Jacob Says:

    Hello Mark (and Terry), developer of PictureSync here. You may not have noticed but you can select individual [entire] projects and folders from Aperture in PictureSync, if you prefer not to use the dedicated PictureSync folder to drop versions into. Just choose ‘Import From…’ (File menu or click the bottom of the import button). To upload to a specific set on Flickr, you choose ‘Upload To…’ (File menu or click the bottom of the Upload button).

    PictureSync doesn’t allow you to choose individual images because, well, Aperture is the image management application not PictureSync (although I do have plans to invert this paradigm somewhat). Ideally PictureSync would ‘see’ your current selection in Aperture like it does with MediaPro and iPhoto, but Apple have not enabled the facility [yet].

    If you have any suggestions do send feedback! (Help menu in PictureSync)

  5. Jacob Says:

    Hmm, not sure about this lowercase stylistic conversion malarkey!

  6. markjen Says:

    Hi Jacob, thanks for checking in! (The all-lowercase thingy on this blog is a CSS rule actually, if you click on the “Cased Style” link in the top left, it should adjust to normal casing 🙂 )

    The main feature I’d like to have in PictureSync is the ability to create a Flickr set from a batch of uploaded photos… maybe that’s already in there but I haven’t found it yet? Thanks!

  7. Jacob Says:

    Ahha, I like that you give pernickety people like me a choice over the case 🙂

    Yes you can create sets in PictureSync, use the ‘Upload To…’ function as per my previous comment, in addition to the list of your existing sets, there’s a ‘New…’ button which simply prompts for a name. FYI you can make ‘Upload To…’ the default action for the upload button in the prefs. Automated set-creation and addition (from metadata/albums) is also planned.

  8. markjen Says:

    Hi Jacob, thanks for re-posting; my bad on not reading your previous comment closely enough 🙂

  9. Tris Hussey Says:

    Mark, Have you tried Qumana yet? It has many of the features of ecto, but it’s also free. Works very nicely with WP. Let me know if you’d like to give it a try.

  10. markjen Says:

    Hey Tris, thanks for the note; I’m downloading Qumana now and I’ll give it a try 🙂


Leave a Reply

