Big news for my old team!

June 12, 2006

Just read that S. Somasegar announced that WinFX is now known as .Net Framework 3.0 and will be shipping in Vista. This is great news for my old team at Microsoft, Indigo, which is now known as Windows Communication Foundation (another great name by the Microsoft Branding team πŸ˜› ).

This is great news for Indigo and will probably speed up adoption by at least 2-3 years vs. if Indigo wasn’t included in Vista.

On a side note, as soon as I read about the news on Dare’s blog, I ran to my Vista Beta 2 installation and checked for the existence of a “c:\windows\microsoft.net\framework\v3.0.xxxxx” directory. Alas it was not there, but I did see System.Transactions.dll in there, which brought a smile to my face πŸ™‚

2 Responses to “Big news for my old team!”

  1. Michael Says:

    Why did it bring a smile on your face? Did you work on it some time in the past?

  2. markjen Says:

    Hi Michael – Yup, I used to be on the System.Transactions team, which is part of Windows Communication Foundation (Indigo) πŸ™‚

    It’s actually shipped as part of .NET 2.0 (Whidbey) too; if you use distributed transactions, hopefully it’s really made your life a lot easier.


Leave a Reply

