socialPicks, an interesting twist on a finance site

June 16, 2006

A few weeks back I met Weiting at a Lunch 2.0 event. He told me about a little app he was working on that was something to do with social networks and stocks which sounded pretty interesting; a few days later I got an invite in my e-mail so I checked it out.

socialpicks1

Enter socialPicks, a social network + finance site. Basically, they built what Google Finance and Y! Finance should’ve built (and may be building as I blog…). The idea is that there’s a lot of community right in our brokerage accounts – people who buy the same stocks as you, your friends, your co-workers, etc. And there’s no good way to commiserate with them when stocks go down or celebrate together when stocks go up.

They’ve got cool ideas, like the ability to leave comments on stocks with your predictions, which anyone else can read over and then comment on.

socialpicks2socialpicks3

We’ll put this in the “tools I wish I had before I lost a bunch of money in the stock market” bucket 😉

If you’re interested in an invite, let me know. As far as I can tell, I’ve got unlimited invites!

27 Responses to “socialPicks, an interesting twist on a finance site”

  1. Arif K Says:

    Please do send me an invite, would love to check it out. There are few other sites (e.g. flogz.com etc.) which are similar to digg, but they are pertinent to financial news instead of ‘picks’ per se.


  2. I would love an invite. Thanks man, and keep up the good work.

  3. Christian Cadeo Says:

    Can i get an invite. Thanks.


  4. I’m intrigued, I’ll take one of your invites. Thanks!


  5. hey mark, i’ll take an invite. tho i don’t forsee much celebrating together with fellow msft owners at the moment. 😉

  6. markjen Says:

    Invites sent! I’ve got plenty more though; so leave a comment if you want one 🙂

    Adam – I’m with you on the msft owners there. I’ve still got a bunch of MSFT from ESPP a few years ago… *sigh* should’ve sold when it was at 28 😉

  7. jahjah Says:

    Sounds great and I can invite you to Phuket, Thailand. 😉

  8. Wilson Says:

    I would love an invite. By the way, are they “US-only”? (that is, NYSE and NASDAQ stocks only)

  9. Rajan Says:

    I’d like an invite…sounds interesting.+

  10. (f) Says:

    why phuket?

  11. Zaheer Says:

    Hello Mark,

    Looks like a wonderful service; care to send me an invite?

    Many thanks!

  12. jahjah Says:

    Buzz Technologies Inc. (BZTG) are building their IT centre in Phuket, Thailand.

  13. dave Says:

    I’d love an invte as well….thanks!

  14. todd brunner Says:

    hey mark – i’m interested to check the site out… can you send along an invite? thanks.

  15. Weiting Says:

    Mark – Thanks a lot for writing about us!

    So here I’m to try & take some load off Mark 😉 … If you guys are interested in taking a peak at SocialPicks and don’t want to bother Mark, feel free to sign up via http://www.socialpicks.com or drop me an email at weiting at socialpicks dot com … I can also send you an invite.

    Cheers!

  16. Inv Says:

    Invite please to mooret5@postmaster. co . uk

  17. john Says:

    Hey Mark, I tried getting an invite from the main page but it hasn’t sent an email yet and it has been several days. My email is hmyang@ucdavis.edu, can you sen dme an invite? Thanks

  18. Jon Says:

    Would like to try this site, please send me an invite!

    Jon

  19. garret Says:

    If you are still sending out invites I’d love one. Thanks!

  20. chris Says:

    I’d love an invite too please!

  21. Roy Cohen Says:

    The idea looks very appealing. Please send and ivite if you have one. Thanks


  22. i’d appreciate an invitation … thought the members might want to check out http://www.nationalresearchexchange.com for their free investment analytics

  23. actvtr8er Says:

    Would much appreciate and invite!

  24. Michael Says:

    Please pass an invitation my way if your able to. Thanks a lot!

  25. blank Says:

    I just know about this website and wish to be invited as well. Currently I use http://www.wikinancial.com for this kind of thing. It’s pretty much the same, except the graphics is much better in socialpicks.

  26. Finko Maas Says:

    I asked for an invite on the official site three times over the last three months, but didn’t get one. I need an invite, please!


  27. “ANNOUNCING – A Breakthrough Trading System
    Specially Created for Newbie’s, That Could
    Earn You an Extra $50, 100 or Even $200 a
    Day Just By 15 Minutes A Day. GUARANTEED!”

    http://tradingcourses.biz/


Leave a Reply

