My new spiritual blog

June 22, 2006

The Creative Arts Ministry at church is doing a 40 day daily devotional series using the Rick Warren’s book, The Purpose Driven Life. I’ve decided to try it out too and I started a blog to record my progress over the next month or so.

I tried going through this book a few years ago, but I didn’t keep it up. I remember I didn’t care much for the book itself, but maybe this time it’ll be more engaging since I’ll be going through it with other people…

Anyways, now back to other random musings!

4 Responses to “My new spiritual blog”

  1. Darius Says:

    I leafed through Warren’s book and was quickly disappointed – really rather shocked. He equates Christianity’s venerable contemplative tradition with the superficialties of contemporary “self help” books.

    For a Christian minister to be this awesomely ignorant of his own tradition is just amazing. Guess he thinks the monasteries should be closed. And I can’t imagine what kind of activity he thinks Jesus might have been engaged in during the 40 days and nights in the desert.

    The book also impressed me as truly lacking in original thought. It’s a mega seller for one reason: he’s the head of a mega-ministry and has a huge marketing platform.

  2. markjen Says:

    Hi Darius, thanks for the comment. I recall not really resonating too much with the book last time I started reading through it… we’ll see if it speaks to me more this time around.

  3. Bob Says:

    we’re all going to hell

  4. Sebastian Says:

    Beautifully that there is you and your work. We are connected all and should support each other mutually to fetch humans where they stand, in order to bring it in their Kraft as well as internal equilibrium and holistic well-being. Let your light seem… the world needs good oscillations, light and love. A beautiful radiating rainbow from my heart to your… Sebastian me about a return visit on our side, the school for mental healing much would make happy. http://www.camelotakademie.de


Leave a Reply

