Kinda funny

June 30, 2006

So check this: Entourage has been dogging on my machine the entire time I’ve been using it and it also eats up a ton of memory. So far, I have yet to experience something that makes me understand why Mac zealots are always saying that Macs are faster…

Entourage Splash Screen

Anyways, I’ve been using Parallels for a while and a few weeks ago I installed Office 12 Beta 2 so I could check out the new Outlook 12. So I started using it and as far as I can tell, Outlook 12 running inside a virtual machine is faster than Entourage.

Parallels Config ScreenOutlook 12 Splash Screen

Now I know there’s a good reason for this (WinXP and Office 12 are x86 code which Parallels is probably piping straight through to the x86 Intel Core Duo processor while Entourage is being run in Rosetta mode in OS X), but I still find it rather comical.

To the Entourage team: please give me a universal binary version of Entourage ASAP (I’ll take Betas 🙂 ). I’d much rather be running a native application!

I also like the new Outlook 12 user experience, especially the new search box inside the inbox 🙂

For native e-mail duties, I’m going to try Mail.app now. I’ve heard good things about it (mostly that it’s fast) and I can do all the heavy lifting (scheduling meetings and etc.) in Outlook 12.

9 Responses to “Kinda funny”

  1. Ruchit Says:

    Outlook 12 is really cool, preview of attached files is impressive

  2. m.jen Says:

    dear mark jen,

    while i’ll readily admit i understood virtually nothing from your blog, i just wanted to compliment you on your last name! is it actually “任” (ren, responsibility) in chinese?

    – m.jen

  3. markjen Says:

    Hi m.jen, it is indeed “ren” 🙂

    How did you find my blog?

  4. m.jen Says:

    i’m in china and using meebo to stay connected to my u.s. buddies…so i went from meebo to lunch 2.0 (where i saw your name), then googling your name, which led me here! i’m happy to know that there are more of us 任s out in the world!

  5. elliot Says:

    what in the world? who says Macs are faster, other than Apple?

    if you compare “apples to apples”, so to speak, you’ll find that PCs using Intel Core Duo (or, especially, Core 2) run just as fast as, if not faster than, similar Macs.

    and I think that most serious computer users also know that Macs are NOT faster than PCs. when you compare similarly-priced systems, they’re the same or slower.

  6. ken Says:

    Hey Mark, cool blog.

    Can you run dev software like visual basic.net express edition in parallels?

    Thanks
    Ken
    from hawaii

  7. markjen Says:

    Hi Ken,

    So far I’ve been able to run everything I’ve needed to through Parallels. I’m pretty sure you can probably run dev software; VB.NET and other dev applications probably don’t even know it’s a virtual machine.

    Good luck!
    Mark

  8. ken Says:

    thanks mark, i’m getting tired of my dell laptop and the macbook pro looks sweet.

    please keep blogging.

    ken

  9. Tomas Says:

    > So check this: Entourage has been dogging on my machine the
    > entire time I’ve been using it and it also eats up a ton of
    > memory. So far, I have yet to experience something that makes
    > me understand why Mac zealots are always saying that Macs are
    > faster…

    I think the only thing it proves is that MS is making crappy applications for Mac OS X.

    Also, I’m not sure what Mac zealots say, but the truth is, that today, when Macs are using Intel CPU, it’s just the same, speed-wise.

    There’s one thing though – e.g. I have the old G4 1.5GHz PowerBook, my wife’s got Intel Centrino 1.5GHz (Sony Vaio … more expensive then the PB was) … which is *a lot* faster.

    But the thing is that even though my PB is slower, the user experience is much smoother in Mac OS X then in my wife’s XP Pro, if you know what I mean. Of course, when it comes down to compiling something or importing CDs into iTunes, the Vaio beats the hell out of my PB.

    Well, this is just something I’ve observed … and my wife unfortunately as well, so she wants Mac too now 😉

    Cheers,
    Tomas


Leave a Reply

