Another blog conference speaking engagement

October 19, 2006

I gave a talk at Advanced Learning Institute’s blogging and podcasting training seminar earlier today. Personally, I wasn’t sure how the event would turn out (I’d never heard of A.L.I. until this event), but so far the conference has been pretty good. I’ve finally gotten a chance to meet Chris Barger from IBM face to face (we e-mailed back and forth when we both released our blogging policies publicly early last year) and it’s also been a good opportunity to chat with people from a wide variety of companies who are thinking about getting into blogging.

Here’s a weak cameraphone shot of the scene

IMAGE_00007

For people who attended the talk, I mentioned some links which I’ll throw up here for you:

Blog search engines

Blog aggregators

Plaxo Blog Policy
My official post about getting fired (check out the comments!)

And finally, here’s a PDF of the notes that were handed out. Of course, since Shel and Chris pretty much covered a lot of this stuff before my presentation, we didn’t really follow these notes. Feel free to contact me if you want to discuss anything in particular!

2 Responses to “Another blog conference speaking engagement”

  1. Lee Aase Says:

    Mark – I appreciated your comment on my site, being able to get your blogging policy at Plaxo. We will need to develop a blogging policy for my workplace, and seeing yours and the IBM policy will be helpful starting points.

    Question: now that we’re linked via a trackback, if I respond to your comment on my site, does that get posted here, too?

    I’m relatively new to blogging, so I’m still trying to figure out how this works. Would appreciate any guidance.

  2. markjen Says:

    Hi Lee,

    The trackback system only works when we make posts on our blogs that link to each other. Comments don’t trigger trackbacks.

    Good luck on crafting your blogging policy. Feel free to contact me if you’d like to discuss anything.

    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

