Y! Mail Beta slower than snail mail?

November 7, 2006

I’m not sure how many people experience this, but some of my e-mail is really delayed in Yahoo! Mail Beta. Yesterday, I just received an e-mail message that was actually sent to me last Thursday. That’s actually slower than if my friend had wrote me a letter and physically mailed it to me via the post office! Now, if this was a one time occurrence, I’d chalk it up to some slow mail servers on the other end. However, I’ve been experiencing this for the past few months where random pieces of e-mail would be really slow.

So… goodbye Yahoo!

Yahoo Mail Beta

I had noticed a few weeks ago that Windows Live Mail now works in Firefox, so I figured I’d give WLM another try. I used WLM a while back and was pretty satisfied with it – until I switched to Mac. Back then, WLM only worked in IE, so I had no choice but to check out other alternatives.

Welcome back Windows Live Mail πŸ™‚

Windows Live Mail Beta

While I was setting up e-mail, I figured I’d give AIM Mail a try too – especially since Rose works on the PM team over there now πŸ™‚

A new challenger?

AIM Mail

Will I stick with WLM or AIM Mail? Who knows? (I’m sure many of you are thinking “who cares?” πŸ˜› )

10 Responses to “Y! Mail Beta slower than snail mail?”

  1. David Yang Says:

    Hey Mark – I noticed similar things in the mail beta and will ask around internally to see if I can get some answers as to why that might be happening.

  2. rose Says:

    i like the giant ad in your yahoo screen shot snippet πŸ˜€

  3. Ryan Kennedy Says:

    Mark, this actually isn’t an issue with Yahoo! Mail Beta, it’s an issue in the delivery system (not that that makes things any better). Drop me a line and I can collect some info from you and we’ll see if we can find out why these messages were delayed.

  4. markjen Says:

    Thanks for finding someone to debug this issue David πŸ™‚

    Rose – hehe, there’s a giant ad just out of view in AIM Mail too πŸ™‚

    Ryan – I’d be glad to help debug this issue and figure out what’s going on. I’ve sent you an e-mail; feel free to also IM me at plaxomark (Y! or AIM).

  5. jbx Says:

    Slow delivery is a problem that occurs every once in a while no matter what system you use – including your own personal server. There’s just so much that can go wrong; especially now that so many servers will decide almost randomly that your mail is spam – and not deliver it.

    For me the bigger issues are the design issues – for Yahoo, it seems every month they find some new intrusive place to stuff ads. For AIM, are they browser-centric yet, or do they still require an app download? I still like gmail best, because of the vastly superior threading, but if you prefer a folder UI to a labels UI, gmail is not for you…

    One comparison I’d like is, between all of these, if you max a window on a 1024×768 screen, how many pixels are actually dedicated to being able to read your e-mail? (As opposed to the folders list, the icons, and the ads)

  6. nick Says:

    well, I don’t know about the adds, I’ve been a plus customer so long I forgot that they stuck adds in the free side. Anyways, I’ve notice that ever since they released the beta across the board I’ve been having issues. When it was only available to us plus folks, I never saw a problem. I wonder if yahoo just under-estimated the number of people that would be switching to the beta?

  7. markjen Says:

    jbx – While it’s true that regardless of what e-mail server/service you use delivery can be slow, I’ve found that some services are better than others. I’ve also run my own exchange server; and I’ve never had a e-mail delivery problem then.

    If you’re sensitive to ads, then I think Windows Live Mail will appeal to you. In the current version of Windows Live Mail I’m using, there is only a tiny ad in the bottom left hand corner (maybe 100px x 50px), much smaller than GMail’s advertisement areas.

    I like GMail too, but I’ve had e-mail delivery problems with GMail before. I still use GMail for my mark@plaxoed.com e-mail πŸ™‚

    Nick – Now that you mention it, I must say that I also did notice that the e-mail delivery problem started occuring recently. When I first got onto the new Y! Mail Beta, I didn’t remember having any problems; but back then there were far fewer users for sure.

  8. Rob Leathern Says:

    What’s interesting is that I’ve sent emails to my yahoo.com email address from another account recently and had them be slow to come through but when I use the yahoo-domain-hosted email address that delivers to the same account it was instantaneous. weird. BTW now also as I blogged recently Yahoo! is selling off ad space inserted into emails sent from non-Beta Yahoo! emails…


  9. Just curious, why don’t you use Gmail?

  10. markjen Says:

    Hey Jordan, I used to use Gmail about a year ago and ran into some problems. (Gmail went down a few times and dropped quite a few e-mails)

    Perhaps it’s time to give Gmail a shot again πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

