Great time at the Churchill club event last night

March 28, 2007

Austin Edgington of Airfoil PR invited me to join their table at the Churchill club event last night, The 9th Annual Top Ten Tech Trends Debate. I had no idea what to expect (and maybe I’ve been living under a rock, but I had never heard of the Churchill club before either), but the list of speakers was quite impressive:

Speakers:
John Doerr, Partner, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers
Steve Jurvetson, Managing Director, Draper Fisher Jurvetson
Roger McNamee, Co-Founder, Elevation Partners
Joe Schoendorf, Partner, Accel Partners

So I went with Joseph to check it out and we were thoroughly impressed. First, the event was huge – there were probably 1000 people in a huge ballroom at the San Jose Fairmont. Secondly, the topic was actually very engaging. Basically, each of the speakers were able to give a few of their predictions for the near future and they were able to back them up pretty well. They talked about mobile, green technology, and global economic shifts.

For those who are in the tech industry, a lot of the predictions are pretty much already done deals (i.e. Jurveston predicted that memory would continue to follow Moore’s law while logic chips would go through some refactoring), but it the most interesting part wasn’t the predictions themselves, but rather the way each VC approached and discussed the issue. All four were very informed on all the industries discussed and it was clear that they had an impressive ability to cut through tons of data and plot the trendline of technology advances.

I wish I had brought my laptop and my camera, but alas, I left them in the car and at home ðŸ˜¦

Bottom line: Thanks to Austin and Airfoil for inviting me to the event, and I’d love to get a chance to work closely with these VCs sometime 🙂

Leave a Reply

