Launchy: Quicksilver for windows!

March 28, 2007

First, if you’re a Mac user and you aren’t using Quicksilver, you’re missing out.

What does Quicksilver do? With a quick keyboard shortcut (I usually define mine to be ctrl-space), a little window pops up. You simply start typing the name of the program or file you’re looking for and it finds it automatically. So, instead of hunting around to find the program you want to run, you can use the keyboard shortcut and get to it in less than a second. It also learns your frequently used shortcuts to make it even quicker. On my computer, if I want to run Firefox, I hit ctrl-space, type ‘f’, and hit enter. Much quicker than the mouse.

So, one of the things I had missed when using Windows machines is Quicksilver, which is a Mac only program. I longed for the quick access to all my programs. Then one day, on lifehacker, they did a quick post about Launchy and my dreams were realized. Quicksilver for windows!

launchy

Anyways. If you’re a Mac user, download Quicksilver. If you’re a Windows user, download Launchy. Your computer use will never be the same 🙂

10 Responses to “Launchy: Quicksilver for windows!”

  1. Jay Says:

    This is so awesome!!!! Thanks for sharing.

  2. terry chay Says:

    There have been LaunchBar/Quicksilver ports to Windows for a while. A recent popular one is Humanized Enso.

  3. markjen Says:

    Hey Terry, I checked out Humanized Enso and it looks sweet, except it’s $20 for each product (which only does a few things)! A bit steep for me 😦

    Launchy is freeeeeeee! 😀


  4. I guess I just usually hit the Windows key on my keyboard and type Fire to launch firefox in Vista.

  5. markjen Says:

    Hey Dennis, good point. It looks like it works pretty well; maybe I won’t need Launchy after all!

  6. Jay Says:

    I’ve always used the built-in Spotlight on Mac (Command+Space) and it pretty much does what I think you described above. Launchy seems interesting. Good stuff.

  7. Ruchit Says:

    On windows vista, press windows key and start typing 🙂

  8. markjen Says:

    So I’ve been trying to use Vista’s built in search the past few days and while it does do the same operation, the performance is ghastly – and this is on my relatively new 3.2Ghz Core Duo desktop with 2GB of RAM.

    Launchy pops-up and displays choices faster than the windows start menu can even pop-up.

    Although OTOH, after I know the search result, I can just hit the keystrokes and it launches the application (so I don’t have to wait for visual confirmation). I suppose it’s about the same; we’ll see which method I stick to.

  9. stevemil Says:

    You should check out Keybreeze. It’s a free app for Windows that can do just about everything that Quicksilver can. It has more features than Launchy and it’s lighter in weight.

  10. Wordpress Says:

    developmentchinese jacketcompetition Chinesedressdevelopment capitalsilk clothesStreet grilchinese dresscultural womancheongsamhistory ÓÍÕôÆøÕæ¿Õ±ÃÓ°Ïì 0.8833553045874069


Leave a Reply

